Skip to main content

See also:

The City of Conversation at Lincoln Center

The City of Conversation
The City of Conversation

The City of Conversation features five-time Tony nominee Jan Maxwell, who portrays an elegant Washington D.C. Hester Ferris. Ferris' is shaken when her son arrives home with a new girlfriend as well as some political views which differ from his mother's. Hester is forced to choose between maintaining her family and sticking up for the political causes which she has dedicated a lifetime to fight for.

The play takes place over six White House administrations, from President Carter's term to the beginning of Obama presidency. This new play is written by Anthony Giardina and directed by Doug Hughes, who won a Tony award for his work on Outside Mullingar and Doubt.

The New York Times calls The City of Conversation: "A juicy, funny and terrific new play."

The cast features Jan Maxwell, John Aylward, Phillip James Brannon, Kristen Bush, Beth Dixon, Barbara Garrick Luke Niehaus, Kevin O'Rourke and Michael Simpson.