Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Bessie Awards announce their nominations for excellence in dance

Jen Rosenblit and Jessica Lang share Outstanding Emerging Choreography honors.
Jen Rosenblit and Jessica Lang share Outstanding Emerging Choreography honors.
Photo courtesy of Anna Kuzmina/AK47

The nominees for the Bessie Awards were announced Wednesday evening at a press conference held at Gibney Dance Center in Manhattan. The Bessie Awards were founded in 1984 at Dance Theatre Workshop to recognize outstanding work in choreography, performance, music composition and visual design. Named after the late dance teacher Bessie Schoenberg, the awards are produced in partnership with Dance/NYC. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the Bessie Awards, which will be held at the Apollo Theater on October 20, 2014.
Nominees were chosen through the selection of a committee consisting of 40 members who are active in the dance field as producers, writers, presenters, and artists.

Outstanding Performer
Maggie Cloud
in Passagen by Pam Tanowitz

Sean Donovan
in the work of Witness Relocation, Jane Comfort, Faye Driscoll, and others

Julia Hausermann
in Disabled Theater by Jerome Bel and Theater HORA

Sean Jackson
in Rhythm in Motion by Lisa LaTouche

Mickey Mahar
in the work of Miguel Gutierrez, Adrienne Truscott, Ryan McNamara, and Gillian Walsh

Angela "Angel" McNeal
For her hip hop battle improvisations at Harlem Stage E-Moves 15 Battle

Sara Mearns
New York City Ballet

Aakash Odedra
in Get on the Good Foot, organized and shaped by Otis Rasheed as part of A Celebration in Dance at the Apollo Theater

Tiler Peck
New York City Ballet

Rebecca Serrell-Cyr
in Fire Underground by Donna Uchizono

Linda Celeste Sims
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Stuart Singer
in Within Between by John Jasperse

Outstanding Music Composition/Sound Design

Complete, with guitarist Giuliano Modarelli
for Exit/Exist choreographed by Gregory Maqoma

G. Lucas Crane
for This Was the End created by Mallory Catlett

Steven Taylor
for Aubade choreographed by Douglas Dunn

Nicholas Young
for his inventive tap 'percussion platforms' in Rhythm in Motion

Outstanding Revival

Dark Swan
by Nora Chipaumire
The Joyce

Myth or Meth (or Maybe Moscow?)
by Radiohole
Tom Murrin Full Moon Performance Festival at La MaMa

State of Heads
by Donna Uchizono
New York Live Arts

Bach Partita
by Twyla Tharp
American Ballet Theatre

Outstanding Production

Asase Yaa African American Dance Theatre
Djembe in the New Millenium
Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Camille A. Brown
Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts

Mallory Catlett
This Was the End
The Chocolate Factory

Liz Gerring
Montclair State University

Maria Hassabi
The Kitchen

John Jasperse
Within Between
New York Live Arts

Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker
En Atendant/Cesena
Brooklyn Academy of Music

Akram Khan
Rose Theater, Jazz at Lincoln Center

Sarah Michelson
Whitney Museum of American Art

MIMULUS Cia de Danca
The Joyce

Okwui Okpokwasili
Bronx Gothic

Aki Sasamoto
Sunny in the Furnace
The Kitchen

Outstanding Visual Design

Thomas Dunn
for New Work for the Desert by Beth Gill

Patricia Forelle with Jenny Mui, Avram Finkelstein, and Kathy Morganroth of YMX by Yellowman; and Nicholas Vermeer, Olivia Barr, and William Ward of NYC Resistor
for Vectors, Mary, and Snow by Brooklyn Ballet

Peter Ksander, Olivera Gajic, Ryan Holsopple, Chris Kuhl, and Keith Skretch
for This Was the End by Mallory Catlett

Tim Yip
for Desh by Akram Khan

Outstanding Emerging Choreographer- Two winners were named at Wednesday's event:

Jessica Lang
For the formation of her own company and its inaugural season
The Joyce

Jen Rosenblit
for a Natural dance
The Kitchen

For more information about the Bessie Awards and this year's nominees, visit Dance/NYC. Tickets for the October 20th ceremony at the Apollo Theater will be available in August.

Report this ad