Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

The Bernal Hill Players announce two programs for their 2014–15 season

Poster design for the first Bernal Hill Players concert of the season
Poster design for the first Bernal Hill Players concert of the season
courtesy of the Bernal Hill Players

The Bernal Hill Players have spent this past summer preparing repertoire for their coming two-concert season, while also making arrangements for personnel changes. Pianist Jennifer Peringer and flutist and singer Martha Rodríguez-Salazar had to bid farewell to their clarinetist colleague Karla Avila, who has now moved away from the Bay Area. For their new season they will be joined by a new clarinetist, Sarah Bonomo, a recent graduate of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and, as many readers probably know, one of the four founders of One Found Sound, a democratic and collaborative chamber orchestra that performs without a conductor.

This trio will continue to expand to a quartet with the addition of a cello. Here, again, a new cellist will replace their former colleague, Jessica Ivry. The new cellist is Laura Gaynon, also a member of One Found Sound, as well as MUSA and Phonochrome, of which she is a founding member.

Each of the two programs to be presented by the Bernal Hill Players will be organized around a thematic title as follows:

Musical Chairs: Chamber Music for the 1800’s to Now: This will be a program of trios and quartets from both North and South America, as well as Europe. The oldest work on the program will be a sinfonia by Franz Danzi. This will be followed by two trios, one for flute, cello, and piano by the French composer Louise Farrenc and one for clarinet, cello, and piano by the Italian Nino Rota. There will also be a duo for flute and clarinet influenced by both jazz and Indian sources, composed by the American Russell Peterson. Finally, there will be very recent Latin American compositions by Eduardo Gamboa and Miguel del Aguila.

This performance will take place in San Francisco on Sunday, September 14, at 4 p.m. The venue will be the Capp Street Concert Hall of the Community Music Center (CMC), located at 544 Capp Street, near the corner of 21st Street in the Mission. As a result of having won the Shenson Faculty Series Prize at CMC, this concert will be presented without any admission charge. Further information may be found on the Event Calendar page of the CMC Web site.

The New World: North and South American Chamber Music of the 20th and 21st Centuries: The final details for this program have not yet been announced, but the contributing composers have already been determined. There will be more Latin American music by Gamboa, along with Silvestre Revueltas, Carlos Guastavino, and Astor Piazzolla. The North American composers to be represented will be Katrina Wreede, Libby Larson, and Beth Custer. For this concert the Bernal Hill Players will perform as a trio.

The San Francisco performance of this program will take place at 7:30 p.m. on Sunday, November 23. For this concert the venue will be the Red Poppy Art House, located at 2698 Folsom Street, located in the Mission just northwest of the corner of 24th Street. Further information will be announced when it becomes available.

Report this ad