Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Style & Fashion
  3. Fashion Trends

The 2014 CFDA Awards honor designers with a modern edge

See also

Often called “the Oscars of fashion,” the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) awards were handed out on Monday, June 2 in New York. Cosponsored by Swarovski, the ceremony has been generating buzz over the past week for singer Rihanna’s outfit. The singer stunned in a barely there, jewel studded gown as she received the Fashion Icon award, showing once again that she is always down to take a fashion risk.

The CFDA awards celebrate excellence in fashion design, and attendees find it an excellent opportunity to showcase their creative flair. This year’s winners also included Joseph Altuzarra for Women’s Wear Designer, Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow for Public School for men’s wear designer and Mary Kate and Ashley Olson for The Row for Accessories Designer. Designer Tom Ford was honored with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the fashion industry over his 28 year long career.

The CFDA is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the American fashion industry. The organization routinely raises money and provides opportunities to drive the creativity of emerging designers. From the CFDA Vogue Fashion Fund to several design incubators and mentorship programs, the CFDA is a key force in driving American designers to contribute to the global fashion scene.



  • Randy Travis
    Randy Travis returns with 'Influence Vol. 2: The Man I Am' in August
    Today's Buzz
  • Alternative medicine
    Alternative medicine: Remedies to make the bugs in your body go away for good
    7 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Back to school
    These 10 items are sure winners on your back-to-school shopping trip
    12 Photos
  • Izabel Goulart
    Izabel Goulart walks the runway with Studio F at Colombia Moda
    19 Photos
  • Ombre' technique
    Go for the gusto: What ombre' technique are you?
    5 Photos