Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

Thailand edges Vietnam to nab last Asian spot in Canada 2015

See also

Thailand locked up the fifth and final Asian spot for the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 yesterday by beating Vietnam 2-1.

The victors are in the mix with Australia, China PR, Japan, Korea Republic and host Canada as the first six of 24 nations confirmed for next year's competition.

All five Asian nations made it through this week during the 2014 AFC Asian Women's Cup in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. The competition continues this week through to the confederation final on May 25.

It’s the first time that Thailand has qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup.

Australia, China PR, Japan and Korea Republic have all played in previous editions, with Japan becoming the world champions at the most recent edition at Germany 2011.

More than 125 nations will continue to compete until Nov. 27 in the qualification phase for the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015.

The global showcase of women’s soccer will run from June 6 to July 5, 2015 across Canada.