Soon, thanks to new FDA rules, no product can claim “gluten-free” unless it’s verified at 20ppm or less. If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you most likely already check labels or only buy products with a reassuring “certified gluten-free” seal.
For a newbie though, there are some surprising gluten containing foods you might not think twice about, but you should. Watch out for these foods!
- Licorice-Yep that’s right; Panda and Twizzlers both have wheat listed in their ingredients. Fortunately new brands Candy Tree and Orgran have gluten-free versions.
- Worcestershire sauce- Many of these contain malt vinegar which is made from barley. The good news is that Lea & Perrins uses distilled white vinegar instead.
- Seasoning mixes- This can be learned the hard way if you’re not careful. Especially watch out for taco seasoning mixes which more often than not contain wheat.
- Sushi- Say what? Seaweed, check. Rice check. Fish check. Here’s the thing though, imitation crab meat found in stores particularly contain wheat as a binder. And then there is soy sauce which is a well- known offender.
- Flavored potato chips- Favorites like bbq or sour cream & onion often contain wheat and/or wheat starch!
- Salad dressings-Now these you really have to pay attention to because they differ so much and often even within the same brand. Cross-contamination is always a concern so look for those that are certified gluten-free or just make your own at home (which is tastier anyway).
- Deli Meats-Now Boar’s Head says its meats, cheeses, and condiments are gluten-free. The packaged meats you get in the store probably not so much because wheat is used so much as filler. So pay attention to the package always when buying packaged deli meats.
- Miso-This is very often made with barley, so it’s a no-no. You can find great miso that is made from rice or beans and are therefore gluten-free.
- Sausages & Meatballs-Very often premade meat balls and sausages again use wheat as a binder so always (not to sound like a broken record) check labels!
- Medications-O.k. so not food, but this wide ranging market is increasing growing in the gluten-free demographic. And also keep in mind that companies change formulas too so check with the manufacturer to be sure.