Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Ten finalists, one winner: 2014 Townsend Prize announced

Yesterday a very special literary event took place at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. A group of ten shortlisted authors and countless supporters gathered in the Day Hall to celebrate this year’s Townsend Prize for Fiction. Considered to be Georgia’s most prestigious literary prize, it is awarded every other year to a single deserving novel or short story collection written by a local author. Thomas Mullen won in 2012 for his novel, "The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers” and Kathyrn Stockett won in 2010 for her novel, “The Help.” This year’s winner is Anthony C. Winkler for his book, “God Carlos."

Originally from Jamaica, Winkler has called Atlanta his home since 1979. "God Carlos" is a satirical historical fiction novel about a 16th century sailor's voyage to Jamaica. Akashic Books, an independent publisher based in Brooklyn, published "God Carlos" in September 2012. If you are unfamiliar with Winkler’s work, be sure to add “God Carlos” to your reading list.

Report this ad