Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Television Critics Association awards: ‘Breaking Bad,’ ’Orange is...’ score

Cast of "Orange is the New Black" accept the TCA award for outstanding new program.
Cast of "Orange is the New Black" accept the TCA award for outstanding new program.
Photo by Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

Is it a precursor to the Emmys next month? The 30th Annual Television Critics Association (TCA) awards held its untelevised and non-streamed presentation Saturday at the Beverly Hilton, the same site as the Golden Globe Awards. Much like the Globes comprising of foreign journalists for their voting bloc, the TCA voters consist of over 200 television critics and writers. The Emmys has a larger faction of peer voters, so the results on August 25 for their awards could possibly differ.

One of the stars of FOX's "Brooklyn Nine-Nine,"Terry Crews, was the emcee for the TCA awards. Crews performed with Miss Piggy of "The Muppets" for their opening number. The TCA's is the same association that features its summer and winter tours for the press to introduce new and current programming for the respective seasons (fall and early winter, spring and early summer).

In a brief ceremony that consisted of only 12 categories, it was the premiere cable network, HBO, as the big winner. It took home four TCA trophies for its shows and lead actors “True Detective” (Matthew McConaughey) and “Veep” (Julia Louis-Dreyfus). Even after its final season, “Breaking Bad” still came out on top to win program of the year. The internet streaming media Netflix was awarded outstanding new program for its series, “Orange is the New Black,” based on the memoirs of a women's prison.

Achievement in reality TV gave its honors to LOGO’s “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” a competition program for the best drag queen. It beat out the more mainstream nominees such as "The Amazing Race" (CBS), "Shark Tank" (ABC), "Survivor" (CBS), and “The Voice” (NBC). Soon to be going into its 40th season, “Saturday Night Live” was given the TCA’s Heritage Award for longevity.

Here’s a complete list of winners from the 2014 Television Critics Association awards:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Matthew McConaughey (“True Detective,” HBO)

Individual Achievement in Comedy: Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep,” HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey” (FOX and National Geographic Channel)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (LOGO)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “The Fosters” (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program: “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: “True Detective” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “The Good Wife” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: (Tie) “Veep” (HBO) and “Louie” (FX)

Career Achievement Award: James Burrows

Heritage Award: “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

Program of the Year: “Breaking Bad” (AMC)

Report this ad