Skip to main content
Report this ad
2014 Winter Olympics

See also:

Teemu Selanne to represent Finland in record-tying 6th Winter Olympic games

Teemu Selanne #8 of Finland celebrates with his bronze medal after the ice hockey men's bronze medal game between Finland and Slovakia on day 16 of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics at Canada Hockey Place on February 27, 2010
Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Finland released their roster for the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia on Tuesday. On it was a very familiar name in forward Teemu Selanne.

This will mark the sixth Olympic appearance for Selanne, tying fellow Fin Raimo Helminen (1984-2002) for the all-time record. Selanne served as captain of the 2002 team in Salt Lake City, Utah.

With 37 points in 31 games, Selanne enters the tournament as the Olympics all-time leading scorer. He was named the best forward of the 2006 Olympics in Torino, Italy in 2006; leading the tournament in scoring with 11 points. He also led the tournament in scoring in 1998 with 10 points and in goals in 1992 with seven. Finland has earned three medals with Selanne; winning a silver (2006) and two bronzes (1998 & 2010).

In his illustrious international career, Selanne has represented Finland a total of 103 times in 15 tournaments. Selanne has 11 points (four goals, seven assists) this season for the Anaheim Ducks. In his career, Selanne has accumulated 1,441 points in 1,421 games over the course of 21 seasons.

Ducks defenseman Sami Vatanen will also be on the Finnish roster; but former Finland captain Saku Koivu will not, after declining Finland’s invitation.

“It would be a different scenario if our team wasn’t doing well and were out of the playoffs,” said Koivu. “The way things have gone for us, we’re hoping and we’re confident we can make a push in the playoffs.

That’s where everyone wants to be at their top level. That also had an effect on my decision.”

Also heading to the Olympics for the Ducks are: Corey Perry (Canada), Ryan Getzlaf (Canada), Jonas Hiller (Switzerland), Jakob Silfverberg (Sweden) and Cam Fowler (USA).

Report this ad