Skip to main content

See also:

Team USA roster 2014: Final 12-man roster revealed for FIBA World Cup

The 2014 Team USA roster for the FIBA World Cup has been set. The coaches had to get the new Team USA roster down to 12 players and did so with some very tough cuts on Friday night (Aug. 22). According to a report from on Saturday (Aug. 23), the four players cut to get the roster down to just 12 were Damian Lillard, Chandler Parsons, Kyle Korver, and Gordon Hayward. By all accounts these cuts were extremely tough for the coaching staff this time around.

Stephen Curry
Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images
James Harden looks to be one of the leaders on Team USA.
Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images

The players that the United States will be sending to Barcelona and Madrid are guards Stephen Curry, Kyrie Irving, and Derrick Rose; wings DeMar DeRozan, James Harden, and Klay Thompson; forwards Kenneth Faried and Rudy Gay; and big men Andre Drummond, DeMarcus Cousins, Anthony Davis, and Mason Plumlee. It is very clear that the team is based on size, with quite a few guys that can play the power forward and center positions as they go up against big squads like Spain and Brazil. It came at the expense of guards like Lillard and John Wall.

According to the FIBA main site, the United States has to contend with The Dominican Republic, Finland, New Zealand, Turkey, and Ukraine in group action. It will advance to a single elimination tournament based on the group results and Team USA is expected to easily advance. It is then that they could go up against some of the more feared teams that include Argentina, Brazil, and Spain. Spain features Marc Gasol, Pau Gasol, and Serge Ibaka and could certainly contend for the title as well as the 2014 Team USA roster.