Skip to main content

See also:

Team Penske sweeps Nationwide front row at The Glen

Brad Keselowski wins the pole for the Zippo 200 at The Glen on Aug. 9, 2014.
Brad Keselowski wins the pole for the Zippo 200 at The Glen on Aug. 9, 2014.
Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

In two rounds of qualifying on Saturday morning for Saturday afternoon's Zippo 200 at The Glen NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International, Team Penske qualified one-two to take both front-row starting spots. Brad Keselowski will start the No. 22 on the pole after a 71.018-second/124.194 mph lap in the second round, while Logano posted a 71.097-second/124.056 mph lap in the No. 12. The Penske duo were the only two drivers to post lap speeds over 124 mph in the second round.

Kyle Busch, meanwhile, was the only driver to post a lap in the 124 mph ballpark in round one with a 71.061-second/124.119 mph lap. In the second round, he was third to Keselowski and Logano and will, therefore, start third in the race. He'll share the second row with Marcos Ambrose, who was fourth fastest in round two, but second to Busch in round one. In round one, Logano was third, while Keselowski posted the seventh-fastest lap time.

The other eight drivers who made up the top-12 in round one and advanced to round two to claim positions fifth through 12th on the race's starting grid include, in the order in which they'll start the race in positions fifth through 12, Regan Smith, Paul Menard, Brian Scott, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan, Matt Kenseth, Dylan Kwasniewski and Chris Buescher.

Nationwide Series points leader Chase Elliott will start 15th after failing to make it out of the first round of qualifying, while his JR Motorsports teammate who trails by just two in the standings, Smith, starts in the top-five.

Thirty-nine drivers made qualifying attempts in the first round, so all who posted a lap time in qualifying received a spot on the grid and the race will start one car shy of a full field of 40. The Zippo 200 at The Glen is scheduled to take the green flag shortly after 2:15 p.m. ET. It will air live on ESPN, with pre-race coverage beginning at 2 p.m.