Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Taylor Swift wins big at the '47th Annual CMA Awards'

See also

Country superstar Taylor Swift was Wednesday night's big winner at the "47th Annual CMA Awards," taking home four awards. Taylor was honored with the "CMA Pinnacle Award," which recognizes an artist who has achieved both national and international prominence through concert performances and record sales at levels unique in Country Music. The artist has also attained the highest degree of recognition within the broad expanse of music worldwide. The artist’s talent and presence will have a long-term positive impact on the appreciation of Country Music for generations to come.”

The "CMA Pinnacle Award" has only been given out once, and that was to Garth Brooks. In addition, Swift took home trophies for Video of the Year and Musical Event of the Year for her collaboration with Tim McGraw and Keith Urban on "Highway Don't Care," plus she received the International Artist Achievement award.

In a special presentation, Taylor was honored on stage by superstars George Strait, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Keith Urban, Brad Paisley and Rascal Flatts, all of whom she opened shows for when she was a teenager. The award presentation also included video tributes from Mick Jagger, Carly Simon, Justin Timberlake, Vince Gill, Ethel Kennedy, Julia Roberts, Reese Witherspoon, and Ellen DeGeneres.

The full list of award winners follows.

Entertainer of the Year

George Strait

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year

Blake Shelton

Vocal Group of the Year

Little Big Town

Vocal Duo of the Year

Florida Georgia Line

New Artist of the Year

Kacey Musgraves

Album of the Year

Based on a True Story

Blake Shelton

Produced by Scott Hendricks

Warner Bros

Song of the Year

(Award goes to Songwriter(s))

“I Drive Your Truck”

Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington and Jimmy Yeary

Single of the Year

(Award goes to Artist and Producer(s))


Florida Georgia Line

Produced by Joey Moi

Republic Nashville

Musical Event of the Year

(Award goes to each Artist)

"Highway Don't Care"

Tim McGraw (with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban)

Big Machine Records

Music Video of the Year

(Award goes to Artist and Director)

"Highway Don't Care"

Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban

Directed by Shane Drake

Musician of the Year

Mac McAnally (guitar)

If you'd like to receive an email each time I add new content to the site, click on the "Subscribe" link near the top of the page to get added.

Looking to contact me? Feel free to send Shelly an email.

Follow me on Twitter