Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree will honor three locals

Derrick Brooks one of the 2014 Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree honorees
Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Once again the Tampa Bay community will recognize local sports excellence in Tampa, Fla. The Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree will honor three recipients in its selected categories.

Soiree will highlight a year’s worth of local sports properties’ on and off the field achievements, while commemorating a series of Tampa Bay leaders and influencers whose impact has been felt throughout the community. The three chief honors will spotlight each of the recipients as they reflect the persona of the individual that the award is named after.

The year’s Soiree recipients are for The Freddie Solomon Moral Courage Award given annually to a person who shows tremendous courage in the face of adversity as Gavin Lambert has done so. The Tom McEwen Community Advocate of the Year Award is for a person or group of people in recognition of their outstanding support and the advocacy of sports in Tampa Bay as is Jeff Adams, and Derrick Brooks is worth of the Lee Roy Selmon Lifetime Achievement Award for his lifetime’s worth of incredible support for the Tampa Bay sports community.

And the Sneaker Soiree will also crown for its second year the ‘Budweiser Presents King of Tampa Bay Sports’ winner. A winner will be chosen from a raffle drawing. The raffle contest winner will allow one local super fan the opportunity to attend over 200 Tampa Bay home sporting contests from 2014 to 2015.

“We feel very fortunate to be able to bring so many first-class sports organizations and talented individuals together to celebrate the incredible impact that sports offers our community,” stated Rob Higgins, Executive Director of the Tampa Bay Sports Commission.

The Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree will be held Wednesday, June 18 at TPepin’s Hospitality Centre starting at 7:30 p.m. with guests and co-chairs Tampa Bay Rays’ Manager, Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ General Manager, Jason Licht and Tampa Bay Lightning Head Coach, Jon Cooper.

For additional information, visit Tampa Bay Sports Commission.

Report this ad