Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

'SYTYCD' judge Nigel Lythgoe lashes out at 'DWTS' producers (updated)

'SYTYCD' alum Allison Holker will serve as a pro coach on the fall 2014 season of 'DWTS.'
Photo by Angela Weiss/Getty Images for Dizzy Feet Foundation

With just a week to go before "So You Think You Can Dance" crowns a season 11 winner and "Dancing with the Stars" reveals its next celebrity cast, there's drama brewing between the two long-running reality dance competitions. On Aug. 27, "SYTYCD" executive producer and judge Nigel Lythgoe hit Twitter to lash out against "DWTS" producers over the availability of dancer Allison Holker.

Lythgoe had hoped to employ Holker, who gained acclaim after competing during the second season of "SYTYCD" and is set to take part in her first season as a "DWTS" pro coach, to perform her famous "Dirty Diana" routine for the show's season finale. After receiving an apparent rejection from "DWTS," Lythgoe tweeted his frustration, writing "I am shocked and annoyed that #DWTS will not release @allisonholker for one day to perform "Dirty Diana" on our Finale next week #Ungrateful."

Some fans were quick to back Lythgoe's position. User @DianaSusan7 spoke what was likely on the minds of many as she tweeted "Another poor move by DWTS. Losing viewers left and right. Sorry Allison."

But others were less sympathetic. User @bridgec17 suggested Lythgoe take a good look at his own actions before condemning those of "DWTS" producers when she tweeted "well I'm shocked and annoyed at things your producers do on #sytycd too. Join the club!"

A few hours after his initial post, Lythgoe changed his tune when he shared that despite his previous post, "DWTS" executive producer Rob Wade was indeed "doing everything he can" to release Holker to perform on "SYTYCD" after all. Then at 3:30 p.m. Pacific time, he wrote "Thrilled that @BBCAmerica #DWTS and @RobWade are making it happen! @AllisonHolker will be dancing #DirtyDiana on the Finale next week Thanks"

As a member of the "Dancing" pro cast, Holker with work with an as-yet to be named celebrity partner in the quest for the top prize: the glittering mirror ball trophy. She is one of three new pros to grace the ballroom for season 19. The others are "Burn the Floor" alum Keo Motsepe and former troupe member Artem Chigvintsev.

Other pros who will compete include six-time winner Derek Hough, Val Chmerkovskiy, Tony Dovolani, Mark Ballas, Witney Carson, Cheryl Burke, Karina Smirnoff, Peta Murgatroyd, and Emma Slater. One additional professional dancer will also be revealed to the public sometime on Aug. 27.

There are four dancers still competing for the "SYTYCD" win. They include Valerie Rockey, Jessica Richens, Ricky Ubeda, and Zack Everhart, Jr.

Report this ad