Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Symphony Parnassus to welcome the New Year with Mozart, Beethoven, and Brahms

See also

This month Symphony Parnassus will present the Winter Concert of its 2013–2014 season. The program will follow the traditional overture-concerto-symphony format. The concerto soloist will be pianist Hélène Wickett, who is also the ensemble’s principal violist. She will perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s K. 482 concerto in E-flat major, composed in Vienna in 1785. The overture will be the third of the overtures Ludwig van Beethoven called “Leonore” (Opus 72a) one of several attempts to compose an overture for his only opera. The final version of the opera (Opus 72) was called Fidelio; and many productions now tend to use the third “Leonore” overture as an orchestral interlude before the opera’s final scene. The symphony will be Johannes Brahms’ Opus 73 in D major (the second). The conductor will be Music Director Stephen Paulson.

This concert will take place on Sunday, January 19, at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (50 Oak Street, near the corner of Van Ness Avenue and Market Street) at 3 p.m. Single tickets are $25 for general admission, with $21 tickets available for seniors and students with ID. Tickets can be purchased online through a Brown Paper Tickets event page. Further information may be obtained from the Symphony Parnassus Web site or by calling 415-409-6411.