Let's face it, vegetarians: we live in an omnivorous world. It is often difficult to find vegetarian foods while shopping in the grocery aisle or while out and about. For those vegetarians who avoid eggs and dairy, it is even more challenging.
Quite often, otherwise vegan foods have added (unnecessary) animal products. Many people are surprised to learn that seemingly vegetarian/vegan foods such as gummy bears, Altoids mints, marshmallows and even some "veggie" burgers contain animal products. This is why it pays to always read ingredients while shopping.
Reading the ingredients lists on products can also reveal some pleasant surprises as well. Did you know that Oreo cookies are vegan? How about unfrosted strawberry Pop-Tarts? Here is one that will really blow your mind: French's Beef Stew Mix. That's right, despite the name, according to PETA, it is meat-free.
You can find more surprisingly vegan products here: PETA: Accidentally Vegan Food List