Skip to main content
Report this ad

Suburban Wayne County state representatives face challenges

Suburban Wayne County's 11 state representative races feature four open seats, an incumbent facing a primary challenge, and another incumbent with a tough general election ahead in November.

The five remaining incumbents appear headed for easy re-election.  The 19th District (most of Livonia) is safely Republican, the 20th (Plymouth, Northville, Wayne, part of Canton) and 21st (Belleville, Van Buren, most of Canton) districts are politically marginal, and the remaining eight districts are safely Democratic.

In the 13th District (Southgate, Wyandotte, Trenton, Riverview, Grosse Ile), Rep. Andrew Kandrevas (D-Southgate) has four Republican challengers.  They are Bradford Glass, Cynthia Kallgreen, Matthew Schafer and Julius Vida.

The 14th District (Allen Park, Lincoln Park, Melvindale, River Rouge, Ecorse) seat is open because Rep. Ed Clemente (D-Lincoln Park) is term-limited.  The Aug. 3 Democratic primary is a contest between Paul Clemente, Brittany Guerriero, Frank Liberati, Rebecca Sarazin and Frank Vaslo.  The Republican candidate is Patrick O'Connell.

Term limits have also opened the seat in the 15th District (Dearborn).  Seeking to succeed Rep. Gino Polidori (D-Dearborn) in the Democratic primary are George Darany, Stephen Dobkowski, Alex Shami and Linda Tafelski.  Dearborn City Councilwoman Suzanne Sareini is the Republican candidate.

Rep. Bob Constan (D-Dearborn Heights) of the 16th District (Garden City, Inkster, south Dearborn Heights) has been challenged in the primary by Michael Greene.  The Republican candidate is Michael Mullins.

In the 17th District (Redford, north Dearborn Heights, part of Livonia), Rep. Andy Dillon (D-Redford), the House speaker, is also term-limited and running for governor.  The Democratic nomination is being sought by former Wayne County Commissioner Phil Cavanagh and Frank Tomcsik, who lost the primary to Dillon in 2008.  Mike Adams is the Republican candidate.

Rep. Richard LeBlanc (D-Westland) in the 18th District (Westland) will face Republican challenger Floyd Collins in the Nov. 2 general election.  In the 19th District, Rep. John Walsh (R-Livonia) faces off against Democratic challenger Joseph Larkin, who lost a close race for the 11th District U.S. House seat to incumbent Thaddeus McCotter in 2008 despite being underfunded.

Rep. Marc Corriveau (D-Northville) of the 20th District initially sought the open 7th District state Senate seat, then withdrew.  The Democratic candidate is Northville School Board member Joan Wadsworth.  Republicans running for the seat are Steve Booher and former Wayne County Environment Department Director Kurt Heise.

In the 21st District, Rep. Dian Slavens (D-Canton) has two Republican challengers, Lori Levi and Shannon Price.  Rep. Douglas Geiss (D-Taylor) of the 22nd District (Romulus, Taylor) also has two Republican challengers, Tea Party supporter Donald Lingerfelt and Darrell McNeill.

Rep. Deb Kennedy (D-Brownstown) of the 23rd District (Woodhaven, Flat Rock, Gibraltar, Rockwood, Sumpter, Huron, Brownstown) has three Republican challengers.  They are Matthew McCormick, Daniel McIntyre and Pat Somerville.


Report this ad