Skip to main content

See also:

Stuart Canin will be guest soloist for the Symphony Parnassus Summer Concert

Violinist Stuart Canin
Violinist Stuart Canin
courtesy of Symphony Parnassus

The final concert of the current Symphony Parnassus season will take place at the beginning of next month. The guest soloist will be violinist Stuart Canin, former Concertmaster of the San Francisco Symphony and founder of the New Century Chamber Orchestra. Engaging his taste for the unconventional, Canin will perform the violin concerto written by Swiss composer Frank Martin in 1950. The twentieth century will also hold the spotlight in the second half of the program with a performance of Igor Stravinsky’s 1919 suite of music he composed for Michel Fokine’s ballet The Firebird. Lack of convention will also be found at the beginning of the program. Canin will be welcomed to the stage with a unique rendition of a march by the French Baroque composer Jean-Baptiste Lully, his “Marche pour la Cérémonie des Turcs,” composed for Molière’s play Le Bourgeois gentilhomme in 1670.

This concert will take place on Sunday, June 8, in the Concert Hall of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music at 3 p.m. Single tickets are $25 for general admission, with $21 tickets available for seniors and students with ID. Tickets can be purchased online through a Brown Paper Tickets event page. Further information may be obtained from the Symphony Parnassus Web site or by calling 415-409-6411.