Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Stevens Point Flowage hosts first Wisconsin River Series Qualifier Event

Chris Withers and Todd Bredlau - 1st Place
Chris Withers and Todd Bredlau - 1st Place
Brian Schultz from Bass Nut Lures

Saturday, June 7th found the Central Wisconsin River Series on The Stevens Point Flowage to begin the 2014 season. Forty-five teams took off from Bukolt Park at 6:30 a.m. to challenge themselves against the weather, the Flowage, and the Bass who live there. The team to bring back the heaviest five bass limit at that afternoon would be victorious. Also at stake were five Championship Tournament berths as well as cash, contingency awards, and Team of the Year Points.

The weather started out like a perfect summer day, bringing temperatures that broke the eighty degree mark by midday. A short time later, however, Mother Nature reared her head with a storm front dropping temperatures twenty degrees rapidly and bringing winds strong enough to put a tough chop on the water. This made for more difficult conditions for the anglers, but twenty-three teams still managed to bring a full five-fish limit to the scales by weigh-in time.

For many, the Stevens Point Flowage was a tough battle. For others, it gave up exactly what was needed to place well in the tournament. It was a tight contest, with less than one pound separating the top five teams.

The team of Chris Withers and Todd Bredlau were the victors of this battle, bringing five fish to the scales weighing 12.67 pounds. Not far behind were Kevin and Alec c with a 12.63 pound limit. Third place was locked down by Dan Hofmann and Kris Hanes with 12.40 pounds. Two more top competitors rounded out the top five. Yeng and John Thao brought in five fish worth 12.18 pounds, and Clair and Raffe Hulce broke into the top five with an 11.85 pound limit.

Five spots in the Two-Day Championship on Lake Mohawksin were awarded through this qualifying tournament. Those spots went to: Dustin and Mike O'Shaughnessy, Yeng and John Thao, Eric Fix and Dan Firkus, Shaun Kurzitski and Johan Reese, and Justin Callan and Dustin Nelson. These were the top five teams not already qualified for the Championship.

Team of the Year Points were also tallied and awarded. Kevin and Alec Schumann seized first place with 104.68 points. Dan Hofmann and Kris Hanes grabbed second place in the points with 102.87. Yeng and John Thao sat firmly in third with 101.13 points. The tournament winners, Chris Withers and Todd Bredlau pulled in fourth place with 100 points even. Fifth place in the points thus far was awarded to Clair and Raffe Hulce. The competition for Team of the Year in the Central Wisconsin River Series is always heavy, with many great teams vying for the chance to call themselves the Champions. All of these teams, as well as several others, have a chance to grab that title. The next rung on that ladder will be the Qualifier on Lake Nokomis on June 27th.

The Central Wisconsin River Series presented by Humminbird and Minn Kota is fast becoming one of the most competitive series in Central Wisconsin. There is a wealth of incredible sponsors and great cash prizes as well as contingency awards. This year has proven the popularity of the series with only one spot left for one qualifier, Lake Mohawksin in September. All other places in the series have been taken.

The Championship will be held on Lake Mohawksin for 2014 and 2015. Also plans are being made now for the Series for 2015 and 2016, including a qualifier on Boom Lake for both years as well as the trail holding the 2016 Championship on Boom Lake in the fall of that year.

The Central Wisconsin River Series is a team circuit that bass anglers across the state will want to watch and put on their tournament schedules for years to come. The Series has great payouts as well as incredible contingency awards and great sponsor discounts for anglers entered in the series. All of the details can be found on their Website.

Report this ad