Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Education & Schools
  3. General Education

Steven Spielberg Wins 2014 Lincoln Leadership Award

See also

The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Foundation (A.L.P.L.F.) announced last week that it will award its prestigious Lincoln Leadership Prize to filmmaker Steven Spielberg during a special dinner at the Hilton Chicago on Wednesday, March 19, 2014. This annual award honors outstanding individuals for a lifetime of service in the spirit of 16th President of the United States Abraham Lincoln.

The ALPLF stated, "It is intended to honor individuals who manifest great strength of character, individual conscience, and an unwavering commitment to the defining principles of democracy."

“We are pleased to present this year’s Lincoln Leadership Prize to Steven Spielberg, who brings socially relevant issues to the forefront of our minds through the medium of film,” said Wayne W. Whalen, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the ALPLF . “Additionally, his long-time commitment to philanthropic endeavors exemplifies President Lincoln’s conscience and spirit, making him truly deserving of this award.”

“This is an extraordinary honor. For me, Lincoln’s unprecedented commitment to the cause of democracy is one of the most important examples of leadership our nation has ever seen,” said Spielberg. “I am humbled to receive an award that embodies both his legacy and the profound contributions he made to this country.”

Caterpillar Inc. is the presenting sponsor for the 2014 Lincoln Leadership Prize and has been a major supporter of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum since its inception.

Last year, Archivist of the United States The Honorable David S. Ferriero and the National Archives and Records Administration (N.A.R.A.) honored Speilberg. The famous documentary maker Ken Burns, the National Archives Board Vice President, served as Gala Chair at the Foundation for the National Archives 2013 Records of Achievement award ceremony and gala in honor of Steven Spielberg on November 19, 2013 in Washington, D.C.

Speilberg's film Lincoln (2012) earned $275,293,450 at the box office worldwide and garnered critical accolades. Daniel Day-Lewis won his fourth BAFTA Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role and third Academy Award for Best Actor for his portrayal of Lincoln.

For more information on the Lincoln Leadership Prize Dinner and to purchase individual tickets or to secure a table, one can visit the Web page or call the ALPLF office at (217) 557-6251.