Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Steve Harvey inducted into the NAB Hall of Fame

NAB Show
Yolanda Gibson of

The National Association of Broadcasters held its annual media event at the Las Vega Convention Center in Nevada. This conference was a great forum to bring together media industry enthusiast, such as production managers, filmmakers, radio broadcasters and engineers from all over the world. The 2014 convention configured great numbers as 93,000 people were in attendance.

A special event was held at NAB to honor radio stations for their year around commitment to community service, known as the Crystal Radio Award Luncheon. Ten radio stations that represent the very best in broadcasting and community service were honored for their outstanding achievements. There were 50 great finalist, but only 10 winners received a Crystal. The radio winners of the Crystal, are as follow:

KCVM-FM Cedar Falls, IA KYNT-AM Yankton, SD *
KHHT-FM Los Angeles, CA WDHR-FM Pikeville, KY *
KSTP-FM St. Paul, MN WLEN-FM Adrian, MI **
KTAR-FM Phoenix, AZ * WWJ-AM Detriot, MI *
KXKT-FM Omaha, NE WZUS-FM Decatur, IL *

In addition, Atlanta Syndicated Radio host Steve Harvey was inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame. His speech filled the room with inspiration, as he became emotional about the challenges and triumphs in his life that helped him to become a significant and key player in radio. He states, "I had no ideal of the plan that God had in store for my life...One day I became in touch with my prayer life...I had a praying mother."

In addtion to his sincerity he filled the room with laughter as he displayed his candid sense of humor that he exhibits everyday on his morning show as part of his acceptance speech.

The Crystal Awards was sponored by ASCAP.

Report this ad