Skip to main content
  1. Travel
  2. Airlines

Starwood Preferred Guest Annual Award Nights Adjustment

See also

Members of Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) have until March 4, 2014, to redeem points at the current award categories. On March 5, 56 percent of SPG hotels are moving down to a lower category while 44 percent are moving to a higher category.

Most hotels are not changing categories and Starwood is not announcing a new, higher award category or changing the redemption amounts for the current categories.

Changes go into effect March 4, 2014, allowing members the opportunity to review the changes and decide if it makes sense to redeem points before or after the changes take place.

While category changes are always subject to adjustment, the preliminary list is available at

Members may review existing hotel categories at


Today's top buzz...

  • Amazon Prime
    Amazon Prime: Share the gift of expedited shipping with up to four freeloaders
    Tech Tips
  • Celebrity couples
    Take a look at the most powerful celebrity couples in Hollywood
    20 Photos
  • Deviled eggs
    This is the only deviled egg recipe you’ll need this Easter
    Delicious Eggs
  • Famous celebrity redheads
    These famous faces turn heads with their perfectly styled red manes
    27 Photos
  • Short obituary
    A Swedish man decided to create his own obituary and now it's gone viral. See why
    Top News
  • Watch a new sport: Twenty reasons for you to start watching rugby
    20 Photos

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!