Skip to main content

See also:

Star Wars March Madness returns

Star Wars March Madness
Star Wars March Madness

For the second year in a row, the official Star Wars website debuted on March 11, 2014, that they will be hosting their own spin on the classic ‘March Madness.’ The bracket was met with high approval and participation last year as fans voted for their favorite Star Wars character. 32 Jedi, Sith, Rebels, Imperials, Senators, Bounty Hunters, and various others were eliminated by avid followers.

Last year saw many surprises, obvious blowouts, and saw several underdogs make their way to the finals.

At the end of the competition, the Dark Side and Light Side went head-to-head in the form of Yoda and Darth Vader. While not a blowout, Yoda shockingly beat Lord Vader 60-40%. This year, fans can start voting on March 17th at

There will be brand new divisions and entrants this year to keep things fresh and entertaining. Additionally, fans can vote for “play-ins” (characters who need to be voted into the final bracket) and fill out a prediction sheet. This year’s brackets will include the following: Rebels, Jedi, Scoundrels, Republic, Empire and Speratists, Bounty Hunters, Sith, and Underworld. Yoda himself even sat down for an entertaining interview about the upcoming competition. Check out the official “This Is Madness” website listed above for all the details.

Join the discussion with us and share your thoughts on Twitter, @yodasnews and @chewbacca89. (Alex Rybak contributed to this article)