Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

South Florida’s Regional Theater Awards Organization Names New Managing Director

Carbonell Awards Board of Directors has Mary Damiano has appointed Managing Director
Carbonell Awards

The Board of Directors of the Carbonell Awards, which recognizes excellence in South Florida regional theater, has appointed Mary Damiano as the organization’s new managing director.

Damiano, who is based in Broward County, is an award-winning freelance journalist and theater critic who has covered the arts in South Florida for 15 years.

Her more than 2,000 articles have appeared in a variety of publications, including the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, New Times, South Florida Gay News,, and She Magazine. She is also the founding editor of

Damiano has been involved with the Carbonell Awards since 2004, as a member of the judging panel responsible for determining the nominations and winners of the annual Carbonell Awards. She assumed the role of Panel Coordinator in 2008, becoming the main liaison between participating regional theaters and the panelists and judges who evaluate productions.

The Carbonell Awards fosters the artistic growth of professional theater in South Florida by celebrating the diversity of our theater artists, providing educational scholarships, and building audience appreciation and civic pride by highlighting achievements of our theater community.

Over 25 professional theater companies in Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties participate in the awards process every year. Each season volunteer panelists and judges choose nominees and recipients from hundreds of shows produced on area stages.

The Carbonell Awards also celebrate the accomplishments of our artistic leaders by presenting ‘Special Awards’ and support the next generation of artists and journalists by awarding scholarships. Along with New York's Drama Desk and Chicago's Joseph Jefferson Awards, the Carbonell Awards are among the nation’s senior regional arts awards and predate others, including Washington, D.C.'s Helen Hayes Awards.

The Carbonell Awards are named after Manuel Carbonell, an internationally-renowned sculptor, who in 1976 designed the original solid bronze and marble award, the signature trophy that is given to Carbonell Award winners.

Report this ad