Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Sounders Trio trying for Brazil

Clint Dempsey
Clint Dempsey
Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

Seattle Sounder players Clint Dempsey, midfielder Brad Evans and defender De Andre Yedlin have been called to train with the U.S Men’s National team in Palo Alto, California in preparation for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

The 30-man camp began May 14th at Stanford University. USNMT coach Juregon Klinsmenn will have until June 2nd to pick 23 that will make up the final roster that will travel to Brazil.

The trio have varying chances to make the team that will travel to Brazil.
Dempesy is a lock, while Evans will need to show that he is healthy from recent injuries and Yedlin is a bright star that will try to convince Klinsmen is time is now rather than late.

Dempsey is the captain of the national team, has 103 caps (T-10th) and ranks second all-time with 36 goals.
He currently leads MLS with eight goals in nine appearances, and has played a full 90 minutes in both appearances for the USMNT in 2014.

Midfielder Evans has 17 caps and one goal for the national team.
Evans has started five World Cup qualifying games at right back.

Yedlin is an up and coming start who participated in the team’s January camp earned his first two caps in friendlies against Korea and Mexico.
Yedlin’s best performances were in the 2013 U.S U-20 world Cup where he started all three U.S. Matches.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg),
Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas),
Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski
(San Jose Earthquakes)

Report this ad