Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Gadgets & Tech
  3. Internet

Sochi 2014 Olympics: USA v Canada men’s hockey live stream free NBC TV game time

See also

Watch free live stream of Sochi 2014 Olympics: Canada vs Sweden men's hockey battle for the gold medal right here!

Less than 24 hours after watching the USA women’s team lose to Canada in the Sochi 2014 Olympics, the men’s hockey squad will try and enact revenge when these countries meet in a live stream free game Friday afternoon on NBC TV.

According to a Feb. 20, 2014, TST report, Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi, Russia, will be the site for the second semifinal hockey match of the antepenultimate day of the XXII Olympic Winter Games.

This pivotal game will be broadcast live on NBC Sports Network (DirecTV channel 220) beginning at 11:30 a.m. EST (10:30 a.m. CST/9:30 a.m. MST/8:30 a.m. PST). The puck is scheduled to drop at the top of the hour (Noon EST) and will also be streaming live and free of charge on NBC Live Extra.

With a chance to advance to the Sochi 2014 Olympics gold medal round against Sweden or Finland, Team USA and Team Canada clash in a rematch of the 2010 Vancouver finals.

“I think we were destined to be on a crash course for each other,” said USA Hockey forward David Backes. “It happens to be in the semifinals instead of the final like Vancouver. We’ve traveled 5,000 miles for this. I think both teams will be very excited to play each other.”

It was only four years ago that the Canadians defeated the Americans, 3-2, on a go-ahead Sidney Crosby goal in overtime. However since then, the United States has not only gotten better, but has developed an identity of its own in the process.

“We’re playing fast, scoring off the rush, scoring on the power play,” added forward Zach Parise. “Just the way we tried to design this team with a lot of speed, I think that’s really played to our advantage on the bigger surface. Our transition has been really good, our ‘D’ has been good, we’re moving the puck really well, we’re getting good chances off the rush.”

Can the men’s USA hockey enact revenge on a Canadian team determined to punch its ticket into the Sochi 2014 Olympic hockey finals?

According to ice hockey oddsmakers, Team USA will have to defy the odds in order to earn a shot at gold. Hours removed from the start of this game, Team Canada is favored by -1½ [+240] goals against Team USA +1½ [-300], and the OVER/UNDER is set at a combined total of 5½ goals.

Don’t miss what is sure to be an epic match between two countries determined to not give an inch. Watch the Sochi 2014 Olympics Friday morning, as USA takes on Canada in the men’s hockey second semifinal match.

Tune to NBC Sports Network to watch the national TV broadcast live, or simply click on the link provided above to view the free live stream online, beginning at the aforementioned TV start time of 12 p.m. EST.

Advertisement