Gov. Rick Snyder has signed legislation Wednesday allowing communities to enforce ordinances aimed at drunken drivers with very high bodily alcohol content (BAC).
"Stiffer penalties against "super drunk" drivers - those with a BAC of 0.17 or higher - took effect in 2010. Because that law raised the maximum prison term for offenders, law enforcement officers were prohibited from writing tickets for high BAC violations under local ordinances," stated mich.gov.
The law was intended as an enhancement penalty for driving a vehicle while intoxicated with the higher BAC levels. However, municipal attorneys did not have the authority to prosecute offenses where the punishment exceeded 93 days in jail.
The law signed raises the penalty to 180 days, and the fine to a maximum of $700 if blood alcohol content is 0.17, or higher giving municipal attorneys the authority to prosecute, and law enforcement officers authority to write the tickets.
For your own sake, and that of others, please don't drink and drive.
If you or a loved one needs help with any type of drug abuse/addiction problem, contact these sites depending on where you live. SEMCA (Wayne County residents), CARE (Macomb County residents), PACE (Oakland County residents), Drug Free Detroit (City of Detroit residents). For those residing outside the State of Michigan, contact SAMHSA for assistance. For assistance with medical marijuana issues contact The Michigan Medical Marijuana Association, Michigan Medical Marijuana Certification Center, or greentreesdetroit.com, phone number: (313) 967-9999, or (248) 677-2888.