Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Smokey Robinson to duet with Elton John, James Taylor, more on upcoming album

Smokey Robinson
Photo by Valerie Macon/Getty Images

Smokey Robinson will release an album of duets called “Smokey & Friends” this September on Verve Records, the singer announced May 15. The album, to be produced by “American Idol” star and record producer Randy Jackson, will feature Elton John and James Taylor among the artists Robinson will sing with on the album.

Elton John and Smokey Robinson will duet on "The Tracks of My Tears," which was rated one of Rolling Stone's “Top 500 Songs of All Time” and was inducted in the Grammy Hall of Fame. "I was lucky enough to pick 'Tracks Of My Tears' because I've always loved the song, probably one of the best lyrics of all time...just an amazing lyric. The greatest pop song ever written," Elton John said.

James Taylor and Smokey Robinson will duet on the Marvin Gaye classic "Ain't That Peculiar" which Robinson composed and which became one of Gaye's earliest signature hits. It was Gaye's second consecutive Billboard #1 R&B Single and his second Top 10 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart.

"What a great honor and pleasure it is for me to record with my really good friends Elton John and James Taylor,” Robinson said. “They are both awesome artists and we had a great time in the studio."

“Smokey & Friends” will feature Robinson alongside a roster of contemporary and classic artists who will sing songs from Robinson's catalog of hits and those he has written for his solo career and for others. Additional collaborations will be announced before the album's release.

Report this ad