Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

SIFF Recognizes Excellence in Short Filmaking

SIFF Announces Jury Awards for Shortfest
SIFF Announces Jury Awards for Shortfest
Courtesy of Twaaga

The Seattle International Film Festival just announced today this year's ShortsFest Jury Award winners. ShortsFest, SIFF's four day celebration of short film, took place last weekend at SIFF Cinema Uptown. This year's Festival featured over 150 short films including nearly 40 premieres.

Carl Spence, SIFF's Artistic Director, says, "ShortsFest Weekend is always one of the most fun events of the Festival. Once again this year, the selection reveals the incredible vibrancy and diversity of the short form. The audience here in Seattle loves shorts, and it's great to bring these filmmakers together for the long weekend so they can share ideas while we celebrate their work."

Adds Beth Barrett, Director of Programming, "From recognizable names to emerging talent, ShortsFest 2014 showcased an impressive array of films. Six years ago, SIFF became an Academy Award®-qualifying festival, and we are proud to be part of the development of these significant voices in filmmaking."

ShortsFest jurors chose winners in the Live Action, Documentary, and Animation categories. Each ShortsFest Grand Jury winner receives $1,000, and the winners are eligible for the Academy Awards® in their respective Short Film category.

And the SIFF 2014 Shortfest Award Winners Are...

Live Action

Grand Jury Prize: Twaaga, directed by Cedric Ido (Burkina Faso, France)

Special Jury Mention: Aban + Khorshid, directed by Darwin Serink (USA)


Grand Jury Prize: Maikaru, directed by Amanda Harryman (USA)

Special Jury Mention: The Queen (La Reina), directed by Manuel Abramovich (Argentina)


Grand Jury Prize: Rhino Full Throttle, directed by Erik Schmitt (Germany)

Report this ad