Skip to main content
Report this ad

Shootout field set

Carl Edwards is on the pole for Saturday's Budweiser Shootout
Carl Edwards is on the pole for Saturday's Budweiser Shootout

The 24-driver field for Saturday night’s Budweiser Shootout was set with a drawing on Thursday night. By the luck of the draw, Carl Edwards won the pole.

“It’s been a long time since I’ve been on a pole,” Edwards joked with drawing M.C., Kenny Wallace.

Kevin Harvick won the second starting position to start alongside Edwards on the front row, despite not being in attendance at the drawing. Suffering from the flu, Harvick – last year’s Budweiser Shootout winner – was represented by crew chief Gil Martin.

Harvick, like several other drivers, won’t be able to start the event in the position that was drawn for him. Harvick and the No. 29 team will start the Shootout in the back of the field after going to a backup car, since Richard Childress teammate Clint Bowyer wrecked the No. 29 car in practice earlier in the day on Thursday.

Other drivers who will have to start in the Budweiser Shootout in the back, despite their draw, in a backup car include Greg Biffle, who drew the fifth starting position; Mark Martin, who drew the sixth starting spot; Kurt Busch, who drew the 22nd starting position; and Denny Hamlin, who would be in the back anyway, since he drew the 24th and final starting spot.

“That’s good, because that’s where I’m starting anyway,” Hamlin said of his draw and his backup car start.

Harvick wasdn’t the only driver who had to have someone else draw for him. Joey Logano was in attendance at the drawing, but Greg Zipadelli had to draw for him, since Logano is only 19 years-old and numbers were concealed in Budweiser bottles.

Starting positions, not considering drivers falling back in backup cars, for the 2010 Budweiser Shootout are as follows:

1. Carl Edwards

2. Kevin Harvick

3. Brian Vickers

4. Ryan Newman

5. Greg Biffle

6. Mark Martin

7. Jeff Burton

8. Matt Kenseth

9. Jamie McMurray

10. John Andretti

11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

12. Bobby Labonte

13. Tony Stewart

14. Ken Schrader

15. Michael Waltrip

16. Jimmie Johnson

17. Kyle Busch

18. Derrike Cope

19. Kasey Kahne

20. Juan Montoya

21. Joey Logano

22. Kurt Busch

23. Jeff Gordon

24. Denny Hamlin

The Budweiser Shootout is slated for 8 p.m. ET on Saturday. It can be seen live on FOX.

To be notified when new articles are posted, follow me on Twitter at or become a fan of NASCAR Examiner on Facebook.


Report this ad