Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Arts & Exhibits

'Shatter Me' takes flight and ascends

See also

Lindsey Stirling's new album, Shatter Me, was released in the U.S. today. It's available for purchase and download through iTunes and Amazon. According to Lindsey's Facebook page, this caused her to be currently No. 1 on the iTunes Charts and Amazon's Album of the Week. However, Target has a deluxe album available with some additional exclusive tracks, which may be an incentive for diehard fans to shop there.

The hit tracks “Beyond The Veil” and “Shatter Me” have both already been released as music videos on Youtube with over 3 million views each. What everyone is wondering about is the rest of the album. Stirling's style involves a Celtic vibe with electro-pop and dub-step violin. She never sings, but the music is always danceable. The song “Shatter Me” is a perfect example of both her lyrical and vocalistic successes. The words are a metaphor for Stirling's wish to break free of her shell, both career wise and personally. "Shatter Me" is the first time she has written her own lyrics for her own music. Lzzy Hale of Halestorm made her dreams come true by adding her vocals to the track. The only other featured vocals on the album are Dia Frampton's on “We Are Giants.” While the lyrics go with the theme of the album, it could have done without this one, as its executed with an excruciatingly bubblegum pop sound.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Today in Rock: July 25
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Colbie Caillat
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Today in Rock: July 24
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>