Skip to main content

See also:

SFJAZZ announces summer festival, series lineups

C.J. Chenier
C.J. Chenier
C.J. Chenier

Here's more summer jazz to put on your calendar.

SFJAZZ has announced summer programming for the 32nd annual San Francisco Jazz Festival (June 12-22) and the 2014 Summer Sessions (July 17-August 24).
The festival will present a nonstop celebration of legendary performers and up-and-coming artists at the SFJAZZ Center’s Robert N. Miner Auditorium, Joe Henderson Lab, and at the Church of the Advent of Christ the King. The summer programming continues the organization’s expanded ability to present concerts in order to create a context for conversations between audiences and artists. Tickets go on sale to the public on April 23 and to SFJAZZ members on April 9.

32ND ANNUAL SAN FRANCISCO JAZZ FESTIVAL ARTIST LINEUP
Juan De Marcos and the Afro-Cuban All Stars
Wednesday, June 11, 7:30pm
Thursday, June 12, 7:30pm
Friday, June 13, 7:30pm
Saturday, June 14, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, Public: $30/$50/$70

Jeff Ballard Trio with Miguel Zenón and Lionel Loueke
Wednesday, June 11, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab
Members Only! $40

Aldo López-Gavilán
Thursday, June 12, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Friday, June 13, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

Jacob Nissly, solo
Saturday, June 14, 3:00pm, 4:00pm, 5:00pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $10

Diana Gameros
Saturday, June 14, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

Dianne Reeves with Peter Martin, Romero Lubambo, Reginald Veal and Terreon Gully
Sunday, June 15, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$55/$75/$95, Members Only

Adam Theis, solo
Sunday, June 15, 5:00pm
Church of the Advent, $15

Sheldon Brown Ensemble:World Premiere
Sunday, June 15, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

Dr. Lonnie Smith In The Beginning Octet
Monday, June 16, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$50

Wayne Wallace Quintet
Monday, June 16, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

Medeski, Scofield, Martin and Wood
Tuesday, June 17, 7:00pm, $30/$55/$80
9:30pm, $30/$50/$70

Ester Rada
Tuesday, June 17, Wednesday, June 18, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

José James
Wednesday, June 18, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$45

Seun Kuti and Egypt 80
Thursday, June 19, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$40/$60

Chester Thompson
Thursday, June 19, Friday, June 20, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $20

Zoë Keating
Friday, June 20, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$45

Pacific Mambo Orchestra
Satursday, June 21, 7:30pm & 9:30pm
Miner Auditorium
$30 reserved seat /$20 dance floor

Scott Pingel, bass
Saturday, June 21, 3:00pm, 4:00pm, 5:00pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $10

Jacob Young with the Marcin Wasilewski Trio and Trygve Seim
Saturday, June 21, Sunday, June 22, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $25

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble; Bourbon Kings Brass Band
Sunday, June 22, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$45

Mimi Fox
Sunday, June 22, 5:00pm
Church of the Advent, $15

2014 SUMMER SESSIONS LINEUP
Benny Green Trio
Thursday, July 17 – Saturday, July 19, , 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $25

Eric Bibb and Maria Muldaur
Thursday, July 17, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$50

Jacqui Naylor
Friday, July 18, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$45

Omar Sosa Quartet
Saturday, July 19, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$50

Claudia Villela and Harvey Wainapel
Sunday, July 20, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$45

Tierney Sutton: “The Music of Joni Mitchell”
Thursday, July 24 – Sunday, July 27, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $25

Vinicius Cantuária
Thursday, July 31 – Sunday, August 3, 7:00pm & 8:30pm
Joe Henderson Lab, $30

C.J. Chenier (above) and Red Hot Louisiana Band
Thursday, August 7, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$45 Reserved, $20 Dance Floor

Lavay Smith & Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers: “Lindy Hop and the Golden Age of Jazz”
Friday, August 8, 7:30pm, 6:30pm Dance Lessons
Miner Auditorium, $35/$55 Reserved, $25 Dance Floor

Snarky Puppy
Saturday, August 9, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$45 Reserved, $20 Dance Floor

Yemen Blues
Sunday, August 10, 8:00pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$50 Reserved, $20 Dance Floor

Joe Henderson Hotplate Festival: Mel Martin Plays “Page One”
Thursday, August 14, 7:00pm & 8:30pm, $25

Joe Henderson Hotplate Festival: Matt Clark Plays “The Real McCoy”
Friday, August 15, 7:00pm & 8:30pm, $25

Joe Henderson Hotplate Festival: Adam Shulman “Plays Song for My Father”
Saturday, August 16, 7:00pm & 8:30pm, $25

Joe Henderson Hotplate Festival: Michael Zilber Plays “Lush Life: The Music of Billy Strayhorn”
Sunday, August 17, 7:00pm & 8:30pm, $25

Christian Scott; Sean Jones Quartet
Thursday, August 21 • 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$35/$50

Tom Harrell’s “Colors of a Dream” with Jonathan Blake, Wayne Escoffery, Ugonna Okegwo, Jaleel Shaw and Esperanza Spalding
Friday, August 22, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$50/$70

Miles Electric Band
Saturday, August 23, 7:30pm
Miner Auditorium, $30/$50/$70

Doc Severinsen with Tommy Igoe Big Band
Sunday, August 24, 7:00pm
Miner Auditorium, $25/$45/$65

Want to keep up with the best in Bay Area jazz and blues?
Subscribe to us: Have our jazz and blues Examiner columns sent to your inbox. Click the SUBSCRIBE button on this page. It's free. (And we won't spam you or give out your information.) Bookmark us: http://www.examiner.com/jazz-music-in-oakland/brian-mccoy. CONTACT ME FOR YOUR JAZZ AND ARTS GRANT WRITING NEEDS