Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

SFCM to present recitals facing past and future on the same night next month

Violinist (and SFCM alumna) Krista Bennion Feeny
Violinist (and SFCM alumna) Krista Bennion Feeny
courtesy of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music

One can quickly appreciate just how active the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM) is simply be looking at the wall of programs for future concerts immediately to one’s right as one enters the lobby. Often it is necessary to choose among alternatives taking place concurrently in the Concert Hall, the Recital Hall, and sometimes the Osher Salon. Therefore, it is not surprising that in the middle of next month a recital honoring an SFCM alumna will take place at the same time as the Graduate Recital by a student finishing a Master’s degree.

The former will be the final concert in the Alumni Recital Series for the 2013–14 season. The alumna to be featured will be violinist Krista Bennion Feeney (’81), who will perform one solo composition (the BWV 1006 partita in E major by Johann Sebastian Bach) and four sonatas with continuo accompaniment by Antonio Vivaldi, Nicola Porpora, Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, and Jean-Marie Leclair. Continuo will be provided by two SFCM faculty members, harpsichordist Corey Jamason, who holds the Distinguished Chair in Historical Performance, and Elisabeth Reed, who co-directs the Conservatory Baroque Ensemble with Jamason, on gamba. Additional continuo support will be provided by more recent alumni, Adam Cockerham (’13) on theorbo and Laura Gaynon (’12) on cello.

This recital will take place in the SFCM Concert Hall at 8 p.m. on Monday, April 14. Tickets may be purchased online through a Click4Tix Web page or by calling the Box Office at 415-503-6275. (Box Office hours are 10 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday through Friday.) The price is $20 for general admission, with a $15 rate for students, seniors, and Friends of the Conservatory. Further information (including a hyperlink for purchasing tickets) is provided on the Performance Calendar event page.

At the same time, Christy Kim, who will be finishing her Master’s degree in Flute in May, will be giving her final Graduate Recital. Her accompanist will be SFCM Staff Pianist Keisuke Nakagoshi. Kim was the flutist in the wind quintet that, this past December, performed the six bagatelles that György Ligeti composed for the Jeney Quintet in 1953 by arranging six of the movements from his Musica Ricercata (“research music”) for solo piano. That ensemble and performance were selected to represent SFCM this year in the Conservatory Project concerts held as part of the Millennium Stage series of free concerts held at the Kennedy Center in Washington.

The program Kim has prepared for her Graduate Recital will also include Bach, the BWV 1033 sonata for flute and continuo in C major. The contemporary side of her repertoire will be represented by a sonata by Yuko Uebayashi composed in 2002. She will also perform Gabriel Fauré’s C major fantasy (his Opus 79, composed in 1898) and a ballade by Swiss composer Frank Martin written in 1939.

This concert will be held in the Osher Salon. It will also begin at 8 p.m. on Monday, April 14. It will be free and open to the general public.

Report this ad