Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Recreation
  3. Action Sports

Seven Colorado alpine skiers nominated for the 2014 Paralympic Games

See also

The U.S. Paralympics, announced 7 Colorado athletes have been nominated to the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Alpine Skiing Team. They are among 19 other athletes and four guides that will potentially be Team USA at the at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, March 7-16. The US Olympic Committee (USOC) will make final approvals shortly.

The Colorado contingency includes Allison Jones (Colorado Springs) Alana Nichols (Denver) and Melanie Schwartz (Aspen) on the women’s team. The men’s team includes Jasmin Bambur (Granby), Gerald Hayden (Winter Park) Ian Jansing (Granby), Jon Lujan (Littleton) and Scott Meyer (Frisco)

The entire Team USA has had a strong 2013-2014 season on the International Paralympic Committee Alpine Skiing World Cup circuit with 70 podium finishes. Sixteen of 26 athletes nominated to the team have recorded a world cup podium since the season began in August. Seven athletes have won 22 Paralympic alpine skiing medals over the past three Games. All five athletes who medaled at the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games will be back to defend their podium positions, among them Alana Nichols of Denver.

Competitions for alpine skiing are in five disciplines: downhill, super-G, super combined, slalom and giant slalom. A list of events entered by each athlete will be available in late February. Each discipline has 3 major categories: standing with use of one or two skis, sit-skis and visually impaired skiing with a guide. Each category is further organized into classifications addressing each type of athlete impairment.

U.S. Paralympic Team nominees for alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, sled hockey, snowboarding and wheelchair curling will be finalized by the USOC no later than Feb. 21, the deadline to submit Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games delegation rosters to the International Paralympic Committee. Selection procedures and dates can be found at the TeamUSA Paralympic website.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink