Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Sarah-Jane Crawford named host of 'The Xtra Factor'

Sarah-Jane Crawford
Sarah-Jane Crawford
Getty Images

"The Xtra Factor" has a new host in 2014: Sarah-Jane Crawford, according to a report published by the Daily Mirror on June 11, 2014. Crawford has replaced Caroline Flack and Matt Richardson, who were the show's hosts in 2013. Crawford is a DJ at Radio 1xtra, and she hosts the Official Urban Chart on MTV in the U.K.

"The Xtra Factor" (which launched in 2004 as a spinoff show to "The X Factor" U.K., which also launched that year) features news and interviews with "The X Factor" U.K. contestants, judges and guest artists.

An "X Factor" U.K. spokesperson told the Daily Mirror: "After three amazing years Caroline has chosen to move on from the show. As one of the longest serving 'Xtra Factor; hosts ever, she did a brilliant job at getting all the goss and behind the scenes news and chats. We wish her all the best as she heads off on to new adventures.

“Matt had a great partnership with Caroline and brought a comedy edge to his interviews. We’ll miss the fun factor that he brought to the show and which we’re sure he will take to his next project.”

Flack also confirmed her departure from "The Xtra Factor" by tweeting on June 11, 2014: I have a lil announcement. Heyyyyyyy! After three brilliant years of hosting Xtra Factor its time to pass the baton. It's been incredible and I'll never forget it. How can I when I am married to Louis Walsh? It's all he ever talks about at home. I wish the new team all the best and look forward to watching the new series."

Richardson, who was reportedly fired from "The Xtra Factor," has not yet publicly commented on leaving the show.

On June 12, 2014, Crawford tweeted, "Morning! Really thrilled to say that I’ll be the new host of #XtraFactor this year!!!! Thanks to the X team for seeing something in me! Massive respect goes out to @carolineflack1 who’s an amazing broadcaster and delivered 3 years of a brilliant series #girlpower xxx”

Crawford is one of several hosts that "The Xtra Factor" has had over the years. Here's a timeline of the show's hosts:

2004 to 2006: Ben Shephard

2007: Fearne Cotton

2008 to 2009: Holly Willoughby

2010: Konnie Huq

2011 to 2012: Caroline Flack and Olly Murs

2013: Caroline Flack and Matt Richardson

2014: Sarah-Jane Crawford

Report this ad