Skip to main content

See also:

San Francisco Symphony will host a double debut next month

Violinist Simone Lamsma and conductor Jaap van Zweden
Violinist Simone Lamsma and conductor Jaap van Zweden
courtesy of the San Francisco Symphony

Amsterdam-born conductor Jaap van Sweden, who has been Music Director of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra since 2008, was to have made his debut on the podium of the San Francisco Symphony (SFS) in October of 2012. Unfortunately, a personal scheduling matter obliged him to withdraw; and his debut will now take place next month. He has again prepared a straightforward overture-concerto-symphony program for the occasion. This time, however, his concerto soloist will be his compatriot, protégé, and frequent collaborator, the violinist Simone Lamsma. The concerto selection will be Jean Sibelius’ Opus 47 violin concerto in D minor, the composer’s only concerto for any instrument. The overture will be the one Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed for his K. 384 opera Die Entführung aus dem Serail (the abduction from the Seraglio). The symphony will be Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Opus 36 in F minor (his fourth).

There will be only two performances of this concert in Davies Symphony Hall. These will take place at 8 p.m. on Wednesday, February 12, and Friday, February 14. The Inside Music Talk will be given by Elizabeth Seitz one hour prior to each concert, free to all ticket holders. In addition a free podcast about the Tchaikovsky symphony will be available for download from the Podcast page shortly before the first performance. Ticket prices range from $15 to $157 and may be purchased through the event page for this concert on the SFS Web site. Tickets may also be purchased at the Davies Box Office on Grove Street between Van Ness Avenue and Franklin Street or by calling 415-864-6000.