Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Saliva return to Idaho for shows in mid-April, prepare for Rise Up

Memphis based rockers, Saliva are getting set to return to Idaho for two shows in mid-April in support of their upcoming new album, “Rise Up”. The record will feature new vocalist Bobby Amaru, who made his own statement on 2013’s fan teaser album, “In It To Win It”. “Rise Up” will feature several tracks from that special edition release plus new music as well. Saliva is best known for its mammoth hits like "Always", "Click Click Boom", "Your Disease", and "Rest in Pieces". "Rise Up" is the next hit on that list.

Saliva returns with new album, new singer in 2014
Saliva returns with new album, new singer in 2014
Rum Bum Records
Saliva ready to Rise Up
Rum Bum Records

On Saturday April 13, Saliva will land at The Pepper Tree in Idaho Falls, and the following night they will return to Diamondz Event Center in Jerome, Idaho. Unfortunately no Boise date on this leg of the tour, but fans still recall their impressive performance at Metal Fest 2013 when Bobby Amaru made his Treasure Valley debut.

If you counted Saliva out when you heard that they had parted ways with singer Josey Scott, you have been proven dead wrong - all you have to do is give a listen to the group's new single, "Rise Up" and album of the same name which is due out April 29 on Rum Bum Records. With new singer Bobby Amaru firmly in place, it appears as though there is a bright future for the new-look Saliva line-up, which also includes guitarist Wayne Swinny, bassist Dave Novotny, and drummer Paul Crosby.

"We're lucky to have found him," offers Swinny about his new band mate. "We discovered him through one of our old crew guys. He really energized the rest of us. He's a great songwriter, and a top-shelf producer in his own right."

With acclaimed producer Bobby Huff (Papa Roach, 3 Doors Down, Tim Finn) on board, all the pieces seem to be in place. And Saliva has delivered with their new single, "Rise Up." "'Rise Up''s a statement on where we're at," adds Swinny. "The title just has that fire to it."

If you are a longtime Saliva fan, you are sure to be extremely pleased with the full-length "Rise Up" - a bold record full of big hooks, swagger and plenty of guitars. And, outside of the ballad "Lost," it's first and foremost a rock record. These are songs that kick hard, from the immediacy of the title track to the slow build of "Choke," and the rollickin' "Redneck Freakshow," a song the band seems particularly proud of.

Saliva has already debuted a number of new songs live, with Amaru seamlessly working his way into the line-up. "The audiences have been great," says the singer. "I think we have a whole new energy on stage." Expect to see the band on tour the rest of the year and well into next. "It's definitely a throwback, fun, party rock show," adds Swinny. "And Bobby's putting his own spin on the older material."

There's certainly a lot of revitalized energy on display throughout "Rise Up". And despite his late arrival, Amaru thinks he knows why Saliva in 2014 sounds as vital as they were in 2001. "We've just gone back to the basics. You know, being a rock band."

'Rise Up' Tracklisting [subject to change]

1-"Rise Up"
2-"She Can Sure Hide Crazy"
3-"No One But Me"
5-"1000 Eyes"
6-"Redneck Freakshow"
10-"In It To Win It"
11-"The Enemy"
12- "I Don’t Want It”

Report this ad