Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Saint Louis rock band Volcanoes releases new single to stream online

See also

Saint Louis dance/noise rock band Volcanoes dropped their newest single online this Tuesday via midnight release. Their single is titled “We Spend Our Youths Unconscious” and can be heard at the SoundCloud page of their record label, Afternoon Records.

The single is also available for free download at the Afternoon Records website. You will need a valid email address to receive the downloadable digital file.

The song is nearly three minutes of Volcanoes' guitar-ripping dirty homegrown rock. It has an almost industrial sound to it as it opens but delves quickly into a pounding drum beat and scrapping guitar chords.

Volcanoes is made up of Missouri natives Jon Ryan and Eric Peters, who arrived via the campus of Saint Charles' own Lindenwood University with their drum and bass show that has since then raised their profile up among the local rock scene. Ryan is Volcanoes' bassist, drummer, and keyboarder; Peters is the lead vocalist and also covers drums and keyboard.

Over the past three years since their formation in 2011, Volcanoes has released two albums: Faults and Heavy Hands. All of their music so far is available on their Bandcamp page. Select singles from their discography can also be heard streaming for free at their official band website.

The members of Volcanoes recently talked to local alternative magazine Riverfront Times about their new album. At the time, Volcanoes was one of the opening acts for the indie pop group Dots Not Feathers.

The new Volcanoes single “We Spend Our Youths Unconscious” is from their upcoming album, Future Sorority Girls Of America. The album will be released on August 12 through Afternoon Records and will be available via Bandcamp.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos

Related Videos: