Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Society & Culture
  3. Ethnic Cultures

SAG-AFTRA union local election ballots sent out to New Mexico members

See also

The “Screen Actors Guild” (SAG) & The “American Federation of Television and Radio Artists” (AFTRA) have sent out their voting ballots for the local New Mexico elections to SAG-AFTRA members. It includes the Native Americans. The candidates that have run unopposed will be installed into office on Aug. 15, 2013. They include, Tom Schuch (President), Mel MacKaron (1st Vice Presdient) Cliff Gravell (2nd Vice President), Karen Kotter (Secretary), Paul Blott & Michael L. Miller (Local Board Members), Cliff Gravell, Mel Mackaron & Michael L. Miller (Convention Delegates). The national board members running against each other who will serve a four year term are Roy Costley & Cliff Gravell. Official ballots have to be marked & returned by 9 a.m. on Friday Aug. 9, 2013 at Albuquerque, N.M. Read all the information on your ballots for instructions.

Roy Costley says, “I have been the national board representative for the past 22 years and respectfully ask for your vote again. There are many issues I wish to fight for in the coming years. 1 - Re-open our office with a national staff representative. 2 - Maintaining our national board representation in its' present status. 3 - Bring back commercials to New Mexico. 4 - More work for every actor under all contracts. 5 - Increase the size of New Mexico membership. I look forward to the coming years together and all the future auditions. I appreciate your vote.”

The New Mexico SAG-AFTRA office closed earlier this year because of budget concerns with the new merged unions.

Cliff Gravell says, “I've appeared in over 100 screen and audio productions since joining the union in 1994. I've served on the N.M. SAG council (Now SAG-AFTRA Local) and numerous local and national committees during most of the years since. I wish to continue helping union actors receive the safety, comforts and rights promised in their contracts. You can find more about me at:




I hope you will vote for me. Thank you.”

According to the SAG-AFTRA press release dated July 12, 2013, “National president and national secretary-treasurer positions are up for election, both of which carry two-year terms. All national board seats are up for election this year, along with all local officer, local board, and convention delegate positions. (New Mexico). / The executive vice president and other vice presidents will be elected at the inaugural SAG-AFTRA Convention in September. / National officer ballots will be mailed to all eligible SAG-AFTRA members nationwide on July 16, with a return deadline and tabulation on August 15. Election results are expected to be announced that evening. / Schedules vary for other local elections. / The candidates for national president are Paul Edney, Ken Howard, Marilyn Monrovia, and Esai Morales. The candidates for national secretary-treasurer are Amy Aquino and Jane Austin.”

All paid up SAG-AFTRA union members will be mailed official ballots. Non-paid up members will not. This includes all Native American members. With the national elections please expect 'email' letters from each candidate.



  • ESPYS party
    Athletes and celebrities hit the red carpet at Body at the ESPYS party
    Today's Buzz
  • Healthy balance
    Keeping a healthy balance is so important for your own well-being
    15 Photos
  • Apollo
    NASA observes 45th anniversary of Apollo 11: One giant leap for mankind
    14 Photos
  • Unique jewelry
    Nothing catches the eye or completes and outfit like a great piece of jewelry
    12 Photos
  • Student Farmworker Alliance
    Student-Farmworker Alliance launches 'Boot the Braids' web site
    15 Photos
  • Exercise
    Find out why you should exercise to compliment your diet
    10 Photos

Related Videos:

  • "Longmire" 2014
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • One Direction is planning to release 'Where We Are'
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518331626" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • President Barack Obama
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518273894" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>