Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Sabella has surprises in his provisional list

Sabella announces 30-man provisional squad
Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

There were surprises from Alejandro Sabella based solely on the fact of who was added on the players on his provisional list. In a one-hour extravaganza that kicked off Futbol Para Todos and their official campaign where they will show the World Cup matches throughout the country.

"Have to thank the players on this list that helped Argentina to get to another World Cup," said national team coach Alejandro Sabella.

There surprises like the inclusion of River Plate right back Gabriel Mercado as well as the inclusion of Werder Bremen attack Franco Di Santo.

There was also a great surprise after the addition of Martín DeMichelis who ended the season with Manchester City in strong fashion and helped contribute to the squad's second league title in the past three years. Also Fabián Rinaudo was a surprise knowing that his squad was relegated this season.

There was also no surprise about the exclusion of Juventus forward and capo cannoniere Carlos Tevez, who had support of many fans in Argentina but Sabella did not have him in his plans. Another player not in Sabella's plans was Málaga goalkeeper Willy Caballero who was one of the few Argentine goalkeepers in Europe that were actually starting and in fine form.

Argentina will play two matches against Trinidad & Tobago at the Estadio Monumental on May 3rd and then they will play Slovenia at the Estadio Unico in La Plata three days later.

The Albiceleste will debut against Bosnia-Herzegovina at the Maracanã on June 15, they would then play Iran in Belo Horizonte six days later and four days later against Nigeria at the Estadio Beira-Rio in Porto Alegre.

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AS Monaco-FRA), Mariano Andujar (Catania-ITA), Agustín Orión (Boca Juniors)

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City-ENG), Ezequiel Garay (Benfica- POR), Federico Fernandez (Napoli-ITA), Marcos Rojo (Spartak Moscow-RUS), Gabriel Mercado (River Plate), Hugo Campagnaro (Internazionale-ITA), Martín Demichelis (Manchester City-ENG), José María Basanta (Monterrey- MEX), Nicolás Otamendi (Atlético-MG- BRA), Lisandro López (Getafe-ESP)

Midfielders: Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio-ITA), Javier Mascherano (FC Barcelona-ESP), Ever Banega (Newell's Old Boys), Ángel Di María (Real Madrid- ESP), Maxi Rodríguez (Newell's Old Boys), Ricky Álvarez (Internazionale-ITA), Augusto Fernández (Celta Vigo-ESP), Enzo Pérez (Benfica-POR), José Sosa (Atletico Madrid- ESP), Fabián Rinaudo (Catania-ITA)

Forwards: Sergio Agüero (Manchester City-ENG), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona-ESP), Ezequiel Lavezzi (PSG-FRA), Rodrigo Palacio (Internazionale-ITA), Franco Di Santo (Werder Bremen-GER)

Report this ad