Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Ryan Adams announces self-titled album, releases lead single

Ryan Adams
Photo by Bryan Bedder/Getty Images for IMG

Ryan Adams announced today that his self-titled 14th studio album will be released September 9 via his own Pax Am/ Blue Note imprint. The lead single from the album, “Gimme Something Good,” can now be streamed on Spotify.

Early last month, Adams announced the release of “Gimme Something Good” as a 7-inch vinyl, which can now be purchased on Amazon and has become the first 7-inch to hit number one on Amazon’s music store. The vinyl single includes exclusive track “Achin' For More.”

The guitar-driven new single sees Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers famed keyboardist, Benmont Tench, playing the Hammond B-3 organ. Other backing musicians include Jeff Beck’s bassist Tal Wikenfeld, drummer Jeremy Stacey and guitarist and co-producer Mike Violo. Actor Johnny Depp plays guitar on the B-Side, “Achin' For More.”

“Ryan Adams” is the follow-up to 2011's serious and Grammy-nominated (Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical) “Ashes & Fire.” While “Ashes & Fire” saw the singer take a more acoustic and mellow route, “Gimme Something Good” sees Adams returning to the edgier sound we saw during his time with 90’s alt-country band, Whiskeytown, and on 2003’s “Rock and Roll.”

"Gimme Something Good" is the first solo release we’ve seen from the singer in two years. Recently, he has been busy producing for other musicians, including Fall Out Boy and Jenny Lewis. He also started a new punk-rock band, Pornography, and released an EP with them in 2013, “7 Minutes in Heaven.”

In June, a 15-vinyl disc box set, “Life After Deaf,” was released, chronicling his 2011 return to music after a two-year break stemming from his struggles with Meniere’s disease.

The 11 tracks were self-produced by Adams at his Pax Am Studios in Los Angeles. The album is available to pre-order on iTunes or Amazon.

Track List:
“Gimme Something Good”
“Am I Safe”
“My Wrecking Ball”
“Stay With Me”
“Feels Like Fire”
“I Just Might”
“Tired Of Giving Up”
“Let Go”

Report this ad