Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Round 3 of the SCCA Eastern Conference Majors crowns 7 different winners

Darryl Wills ran right in front of teammate Stuart Rettie for the FM win.
Darryl Wills ran right in front of teammate Stuart Rettie for the FM win.
Mark Weber/SCCA

Under mostly sunny skies and with a slight breeze helping to keep the rain clouds away, the SCCA Eastern Conference Majors Tour began two days of racing competition at the Palm Beach International Raceway on Saturday, Jan. 11. In total, the day included seven 30-minute timed events, each paying full points for Eastern Conference competition.

Group one opened the day with Robert Allaer winning in Formula Continental over rival Chuck Moran, reversing the order from week ago in Sebring with a win in the No. 52 LTD Motorsports Van Diemen RF00/Ford, with Moran’s No. 45 Ski Motorsports Van Dieman RF99/Ford coming second.

James Goughary, near his home town in Jupiter, Fla., grabbed the Formula F checkered flag at his home track with a dominating performance in the No. 72 Van Diemen RF-00/Honda.

Group two’s fendered cars featured class wins by Andrew Longe, from Naples, Fla., who was the overall winner and Touring 2 titlist in the No. 02 Trianon/Fall-Line Porsche 997. Rob May (from Wadsworth, Ill., in the No. 4 Fall-Line Motorsports BMW M3) won in Touring 3 and Cliff Ira (from Kansas City, Mo., in the No. 36 Fira Motorsports Acura Integra) won Super Touring Lite.

Following a brief lunch break, Simon Gregg was able to won his third GT-1 race to open the season in the No. 59 Gregg Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette. It was an action packed battle in GT-2, with Yarosz’ No. 33 Hoosier/Phoenix Chevrolet Corvette and Kinsland’s No. 4 Crossroad Motorsports Corvette exchanging the lead throughout the event. On lap ten, Yarosz spun hard into the wall, and clipped Kinsland’s Corvette, flattened one of his tires. Kinsland came to pit lane the next time by to change the tire, but fell a lap down.

The race fell under full course caution for the tow truck to remove Yarosz’s machine, and ended under yellow with Joe Fitos’ No. 63 Joe’s Black Wallet Toyota Camry inheriting the GT-2 lead and win.

Spec Racer Ford saw Cliff White drove his No. 58 Cottage Senior Living SRF off into the distance, ahead of trouble for a flag to flag win – his third consecutive victory to open the season.

In Group five, Peter Shadowen’s No. 72 Road N Race Automotive/Hoosier Honda CRX was locked in a race-long battle with Charles Leonard’s No. 14 JB Racing/Hoosier Nissan 200SX. Shadowen used lap traffic to lead the field for the final 2.034-mile of the 20 lap event and take the win.

Alex Bolanos took his second consecutive Spec Miata race win following race two at Sebring, this time leaving no doubt after crossing the stripe 1.239-seconds ahead of Forrest Landy for the race win.

Keith Grant won overall and in Formula Atlantic in a caution-marred Group Seven, taking a 24-second margin of victory behind the wheel of the No. 40 Mazda/Hoosier Swift 016 in the 19 lap race.

Each of the seven race groups hosting the 27 Runoffs-eligible classes return to the track for Sunday’s races, beginning at 8:30 a.m. (EST). Sunday’s races are 25 laps or 40 minutes, followed by victory laps and podium ceremonies.

Be sure to subscribe to the West Palm Beach Motorsports Examiner, and keep track of your favorite racers. If you're a motorsports fan, and know of an event, team, or person you'd like to see profiled, please let me know. Also, be sure to follow me on twitter, and read my articles about local getaways,HOAs,elections, and restaurants.

Report this ad