Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Roughnecks beat Rush in NLL playoffs

See also

According to the National Lacrosse League website, the Calgary Roughnecks defeated the Edmonton Rush 12-11 on Saturday night at the Scotiabank Saddledome in Calgary. Jeff Shattler, a forward and transition player from Edmonton, Alberta, scored the overtime winner for the Roughnecks at the 46 second mark.

With the victory, the Roughnecks lead the West Division final series 1-0. Game two of the series will be at Rexall Place in Edmonton on Friday, May 16. If the Roughnecks win in regulation time, Calgary wins the series. If the Rush win the series, a ten minute mini-game will be played at the conclusion of the game in Edmonton to determine the West Division representative in the 2014 Champion's Cup.

After a tough start on Saturday night where the Rush outscored the Roughnecks 4-1 after the first quarter, the Roughnecks closed the gap to two points to 7-5 at the half. Calgary then dominated the third quarter outscoring Edmonton 4-1 before the Rush outscored the Roughnecks 3-2 in the fourth quarter to force overtime.

Curtis Dickson of Port Coquitlam, British Columbia led the Roughnecks with four goals, while Dickson and Shawn Evans of Peterborough, Ontario led the Roughnecks with six points. Dickson also led the Roughnecks with eight shots on goal, while Curtis Manning of New Westminster, British Columbia and Andrew McBride of Ladner, British Columbia each led Calgary by collecting four loose balls each.

In the East Division Final, the Buffalo Bandits took a 1-0 series lead over the Rochester Knighthawks with a 12-8 victory at the First Niagara center, also home of the National Hockey League's Buffalo Sabres. Trailing 8-7 in the fourth quarter, the Bandits scored five unanswered goals in the fourth quarter for the four goal victory. Forward Mark Steenhuis of St. Catharines, Ontario led the Bandits with seven points.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink