Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. NBA

Rose expected to be named to 28-player pool for Team USA

See also

According to ESPN, Derrick Rose is expected to be included on pool of 28 players when USA Basketball announces it's selection of participants for the next three summers on Thursday.

The formal announcement will come Thursday morning from USAB chairmen Jerry Colangelo and head coach Mike Krzyzewski.

Rose will join LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Kevin Love, Russell Westbrook, Dwight Howard, James Harden, Anthony Davis, Stephen Curry, Deron Williams, Tyson Chandler, Andre Iguodala, Carmelo Anthony, Chris Paul as returning team USA veterans.

James, Anthony and Paul aren’t expected to compete in the 2014 World Cup of Basketball in Spain.

Before Rose went down last November with a torn right medial meniscus, he had voiced his desire to play for his country this summer in Spain.

Last June, Colangelo told USA Today; “It’s really up to him. We’re waiting for him to come back physically and emotionally and see how he does this year. But we very much consider him a candidate.”

“[Rose] qualifies in a lot of ways,” Colangelo said “He knows our system. He’s been part of USA Basketball. He’s a terrific guy. He’s a great competitor. Now we have to wait and see what he looks like. How quickly does he get back to that level, and then it’s going to be up to him as to whether he wants to be with us next summer.”

Bulls Coach Tom Thibodeau will be alongside Krzyzewski as one of the assistant coaches after spending last summer in Vegas during the select camp.

To go along with the veterans who have competed at either the 2010 World Championship in Turkey and the Olympics in London, USAB will also welcome 14 players that have yet to in a game at the senior-national level.

Paul George, Kyrie Irving, Damian Lillard, Kawhi Leonard, David Lee, Blake Griffin, Andre Drummond, Bradley Beal, LaMarcus Aldridge, DeMarcus Cousins, Gordon Hayward, Kenneth Faried, Klay Thompson and Kyle Korver will round out the pool.

If Team USA wins the World Cup this summer, they won’t have to compete the summer of 2015 to qualify for the 2016 Olympics .


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos