Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Rock Hall Anniversary: Frank Zappa’s Apostrophe (‘)

See also

In the early to mid 1970s, Frank Zappa was in the middle of what would be his biggest chart period. After the top 40 breakthrough of 1973’s Over-Nite Sensation, his next album Apostrophe (‘) would bring the musician his biggest commercial success.

Released in March 1974, the album became Zappa’s first and only top ten album, and his second to be certified gold. The album also contained his first charting single “Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow”. Despite only peaking as high as number 86, it became one of Zappa’s most well known songs. Other notable tracks include “Nanook Rubs It”, “Uncle Remus” (an update of Mothers of Invention’s 1966 single “Trouble Every Day” and “Cosmik Debris”.
Apostrophe (‘) continued Zappa’s mixture of short songs of humor and musical arrangements, which were a hit on Over-Nite Sensation. Some of the other features on the album include an instrumental titled track featuring former Cream bassist Jack Bruce, as well as other musicians including violinist Jean-Luc Ponty, and jazz musician George Duke.

Along with cracking the top ten on the charts, Apostrophe (‘) received favorable reviews, and has gone on to be deemed as one of Zappa’s most definitive albums, even earning a documentation on the show Classic Albums.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Jack White has played the longest show of his career, going for over three hours
    Music Buzz
  • Donald Sterling
    Donald Sterling loses big in court, Clippers sale will proceed
    Today's Buzz
  • Steve Nash
    The Los Angeles Lakers will not use stretch provision on Steve Nash
    NBA Buzz
  • Peter Gabriel
    Peter Gabriel revisits classics in new concert film 'Back to Front'
    20 Photos
  • Train
    Train rocks an outdoor show with old favorites and new hits in Tahoe
    15 Photos
  • Rascal Flatts
    Rascal Flatts to perform at Washington Redskins Training Center in Richmond, Va.
    11 Photos