Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Gadgets & Tech
  3. Internet

Rio Open tennis 2014 Rafael Nadal vs Albert Montanes live stream & TV start time

See also

According to a Feb. 20 IE report, Rafael Nadal will be battling a back injury when he takes on Albert Montanes in tonight’s Rio Open tennis 2014 live stream, which has a TV start time of 5 p.m. EST.

Although he was able to defeat fellow Spaniard Daniel Gimeno-Traver in straight sets (6-3, 7-5) Tuesday night, it was clear “Rafa” was holding back in his first match since losing to Stanislaw Wawrinka in the finals Down Under.

“I had a problem from Australia,” he admitted. “I tried to work on it at home and I’m back playing again. At the beginning one is a bit afraid coming back from a problem. I’ve worked hard to try to come back.”

Tonight, Rafael Nadal takes on another fellow countryman, as Albert Montanes awaits him in the second round of the ATP Rio Open tennis 2014. The 13-time Grand Slam champion comes in with a 2-0 record against his 72nd-ranked opponent, both matches having been played on clay.

Tonight’s match gets underway at 5 p.m. EST (4 p.m. CST/3 p.m. MST/2 p.m. PST) live from Center Court at the Jockey Club Brasileiro’s Center Court in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Tennis Channel (DirecTV Channel 217) will be handling TV broadcasting duties, while ESPN3 will be streaming the action live. To watch Rafael Nadal take on Albert Montanes simply tune to Tennis-Channel at the top of the hour, or click here to vie the free (Internet) live stream on a desktop and mobile devices.

How will the King of Clay's back hold up as he gets ready to play the 801st match of his Hall of Fame tennis career on a surface he's dominated through the years? “It’s been a long time since I’ve played on the surface (clay)," he said, "so It’s normal to return without the best feeling.”

Advertisement

Don't Miss

  • Division
    Ubisoft Massive exclusive: 'The Division', PS4 & Xbox One, Activision to Ubisoft & more
    Camera
    Games Exclusive
  • Coffee
    A new app allows users to buy unlimited coffee for $45 a month
    Video
    Tech Buzz
  • Dragon
    'Dragon Age: Inquisition' launches this October on PS4 and Xbox One, trailer inside
    Games News
  • Computers
    AT&T looks to bring high-speed internet networks to 100 cities
    Tech News
  • Upcoming
    These are 2014's biggest PS4, Xbox One and Wii U games
    Camera
    Games Feature
  • I Am Alive App
    An app out of Lebanon allows users to alert their loved ones they are alive after a bombing
    Video
    Headlines

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about Examiner.com and apply today!