Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

RightOutTV announces 2012 Music and Video Awards nominees

See also




/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";

RightOutTV has announced the LGBT artists who will vie for their 2012 RightOutTV Music and Video Awards. The awards are an offshoot of the free LGBTI artist promotional site at

The nominee list includes artists from Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Canada, the U.S., Australia, Portugal and Austria.

“Making choices between one great talent and another could not have been easy,” says Marlee Walchuk, co-producer the awards. “The judges have had a difficult job so far and as you can see from the nominees list, it is only going to get harder.”

Co-producer Tully Callender adds "I am so proud of the caliber of original music artists in our community, and one of the joys for me is discovering artists from around the world whom I can’t wait to add to my personal music library.”

Walchuk and Callender of the music duo Sugarbeach launched RightOutTV in November 2010 after realizing there were few places to release their own queer-messaged music videos. The women – married to each other – also saw a need for more unity in the global LGBTI music community.

Deadline for voting for the Fan Fave, the only award category determined by a vote of the public, is October 17, 2012. One vote per person is allowed at Fan Fave voting.

Award winners will be announced October 29, 2012.

The 2012 nominees are:

Best Pop/Rock/Adult Contemporary Video

Jeffery Straker - Gone

Matt Fishel - The First Time

Derek Bishop - Take Him Away

Blinded By Stardust - Changes

Matt Zarley - Trust Me

Best Electronic/Dance/Hip Hop/R&B Video

Saturn - Oblivion

Blinded by Stardust - Can't We Just Dance Instead (feat. Biuna)

Nhojj - My Brother

Young Kaii - Fantasy Girl

Lovari - Keep It Movin' (feat. Loco Ninja)

Best Fold/Country/Jazz Video

Kat Devlin - Dear Emmi

Steven Gallavin - My Baby Just Cares For Me

Suzanne Nuttall - I See Wild Horses

Charles K Brown - For My Best Friend

Jeffery Straker - Birchbark Canoe

Best Performance in a Live Video

Jen Foster - Taking Bob Dylan

Anna Gutmanis - People (Got To Get It Together)

Rachael Sage - Everything

Rev. Yolanda - Rev Yolanda's Old Time Gospel Hour - Finale

Tom Goss with Potomac Fever - You Don't Question Love

Best “Living Room” Performance

Norine Braun - 99%

Derek Bishop - Thinking About You

Nhojj - He & Him

Martin Swinger - God Loves

Grrlz will be Boiz - Don't Tell Her

Best Vodeo DIY (Do It Yourself)

Blinded By Stardust - Changes

Charles K. Brown - Stanley

StormMiguel Florez - I've Been to Manhattan

Kat Devlin - Dear Emmi

Brett Every - What A Beautiful Day

Sonasfly - Carousel

Corday - Weekend Warrior

Best Video (PRO)

Steven Gallavin - My Baby Just Cares For Me

Matt Zarley - Trust Me

MAOR - Long Way Home

Matt Fishel - The First Time

Kelly and the Kellygirls - Nightsweats

Best Video So Far

Jen Foster - Closer to Nowhere

Kelly and the Kellygirls - Catherine Deneuve and the Deus ex Machina

Matt Fishel - Football Song

Matt Zarley - WTF

Darren Ockert - Celebrity du Jour

Jess McAvoy - Bring the House Down

Best Pop/Rock/Adult Contemporary Song

Tom Goss - It's All Over

Corday - My Evil Twin

Jen Foster - You Stayed

Darren Ockert - The Rain from London

Matt Fishel - Behind Closed Doors

Best Electronic/Dance/HipHop/R&B Song

Melange Lavonne - One of a Kind (Teen Suicide)

Lunatic-FLO - Gurl U So Fly

Baron - RadioHeart

Matt Zarley - Trust Me

Darren Ockert - This Modern Life (1984)

Best Fold/Country/Jazz Song

Summer Osborne - Be Still

Kat Devlin - 4 o'clock light

Emily Nyman - Time for the Marching to End

Lucas Kane Hall - 1985

Ezra Axelrod - American Motel

Best Song So Far

Matt Fishel - Football Song

Matt Zarley - Change Begins With Me

Jen Foster - I Didn't Just Kiss Her

Nash Satterfield - Down Yonder

Anna Gutmanis - I Am Who I Am

Song of the Year

Matt Fishel - Behind Closed Doors

Kat Devlin - Dear Emmi

Kevin Wong - Baby Grand

Ezra Axelrod - American Motel

Darren Ockert - The Rain from London