Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Rick Hendrick named as candidate for 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame

See also

Rick Hendrick, 64, co-owner of Hendrick Motorsports (along with wife Limda and Jeff Gordon) has been selcted as one of 20 nominees eligible for the NASCAR’s 2015 Hall of Fame. Voting to elect the 5 finalists will take place May 21st, and will include a chance for fans to show their support byvoting for their favorite candidate on

Founded in 1984 by Rick Hendrick, as "All Star Racing,” the team made its debut with Geoff Bodine running his the No. 5 Northwestern Security Life Chevy Monte Carlo, in all 30 races that season, winning his first event April 29th at Martinsville Speedway in Virginia, followed by 2 more victories and ending up in 9th place for the season.

The team briefly added a second car for Dick Brook’s last NASCAR race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, before adding Bodine’s brother Brett and Tim Richmond to the team in 1986. Bodine was later replaced byRicky Rudd. Three-time series champ Darrell Waltrip and the 1973 series champion Benny Parson also drove for Henrick at one time, as has Mark Martin and Chase Elliot, etc.

Since then, Hendrick has gone on to win 11 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series owner and drivers championships; 6 with Jimmie Johnson, 4 with Jeff Gordon and 1 with Terry Labonte (also a nominee for next year’s Hall of Fame nominee). In addition,Hendrick Motorsports has won 3 Camping World Truck Series owners and drivers titles, and one Nationwide Series drivers crown, 218 Sprint Cup Series victories, 23 Nationwide Series wins, and 26 Camping World Truck Series victories. In fact, as of last year, Hendrick drivers have won a Sprint series race on every track on the current circuit with the exception of Kentucky Speedway.

Current team all-stars include Johnson driving the No. 48 car, Gordon behind the wheel of No. 24, Dale Earnhardt Jr. in No. 88, and Kasey Kahne in Hendrick’s No. 5 car.



  • Legendary swimmer Michael Phelps is coming out of retirement, will he compete in Rio?
    Recreational Sports
  • Check out the NHL Ice Girls that are heating up rinks all across the country
    20 Photos
  • 49ers LB Aldon Smith arrested at LAX Airport for false bomb threat
    NFL News
  • Eagles running back LeSean McCoy slams Tim Tebow on Twitter
    NFL News
  • Never watched rugby before? Here's 20 reasons you should start
    20 Photos
  • Wiz kid: Washington Wizards sign 10-year-old with cancer to contract
    NBA News

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!