Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Reel Cowboys, including Stefanie Powers and Ruta Lee, get honors

Actors and stars who have mounted a horse or brandished a gun on the silver screen in a cowboy film get honored at the Celebrity Silver Spur Awards, which for the last 17 years have been held at the Sportsmen's Lodge in Studio City, Calif. where famed film cowboys like John Wayne, Gene Autry and Tom Mix used to hang out.

Here are some of the recipients.
Silver Spur Awards
Stephanie Powers is among the recipients
Photo by Jemal Countess/Getty Images

The Reel Cowboys 17th Annual Celebrity Silver Spur Awards gala will benefit the John Tracy Clinic for the Deaf ( which helps children from 0 to 5 years old with hearing difficulties and is based in downtown Los Angeles. The agency is the largest private provider of services to families with young children with hearing loss (serving more than 25,000 families each year) and the leading diagnostic and education center for hearing impaired throughout the world.

The even is opened to the public and will be held on Sept. 19 at the Sportsmen's Lodge. The Reel Cowboys is a non-profit organization preserving and advocating the appreciation and history of Western film and TV.

The honors this year go to William Wellman, John Payne, Ann Robinson, Bob Minor, Stefanie Powers, Ruta Lee, Clayton Moore and Taylor ‘Cactus Mack’ McPeters. Guest appearances include Louis Gossett, Jr., Bo Svenson and Hugh O’Brian and more. Darby Hinton is the Master of Ceremonies.

Clayton Moore, the Real Lone Ranger, will receive the Special Centennial Award. (He lived locally in the San Fernando Valley until he died in 1999.)

Taylor 'Cactus Mack' McPeters is being presented the prestigious Jack Iverson Founders Award.

Find out about the other recipients and their cowpoke pasts by looking at their pages:

William Wellman: "Posthumous Award"

John Payne: "Posthumous Award"

Ann Robinson:

Bob Minor:

Stefanie Powers:

Ruta Lee:

Clayton Moore:

Taylor 'Cactus Mack' McPeters:

At 6 p.m., doors open for dinner, performances, awards, photo opportunities, autograph signing and silent and live auctions.

The Reel Cowboys started in 1997 and is made up of more than 100 entertainment industry members such as famous actors, directors, producers, stunt and film professionals, who all appreciate the legacy and the future of Western movies and TV. The profits generated by the Silvers Spur Award Dinners and Galas have provided needed funding to many worthy community charities.

Robert Lanthier, who is the president of the Reel Cowboys and producer and director of the Silver Spur Awards, says: "Every year we strive to make a difference in the community by honoring those in need and by celebrating Western Film and Television.”

Tickets cost $175 for VIP tickets and $125 for general seats. If bought on the day of the event, tickets cost and additional $20. Tickets are tax deductible.

Reserve tickets can be bought by calling 818-395-5020 (for cash & checks) or 818-352-7665 (for credit cards), or by mailing checks (by September 12th) to The Reel Cowboys, P.O. BOX 57203, Sherman Oaks, CA. 91403 or by going online to

Report this ad