Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Recent release: 'The City' by Dean Koontz

See also

Bestselling suspense and thriller author Dean Koontz is best known for his Odd Thomas and Frankenstein series. “The City: A Novel” is his latest stand alone novel and it was released on July 1, 2014.

“The City” is the coming of age story of musical prodigy Jonah Ellington Basie Hines Eldridge Wilson Hampton Armstrong Kirk, or better yet, just Jonah Kirk. He is the son of an exceptional singer and the grandson of a questionable “piano man.” As an adult, Jonah tells the story of the city and how it changed his life. He is just beginning to understand his own gifts on the piano when he comes across a group of dangerous people with devastating consequences.

It is set in a more innocent time and his story begins as a young boy when he meets a woman he names “Pearl” who claims to be the soul of the city made flesh. His family is unstable because of his deadbeat father and he meets the strangest people along the way. He often has dreams that he believes to be premonitions. Since Koontz often writes about supernatural creatures and themes in books like “Phantoms” and “Darkfall” fans of the author might have gotten used to expecting such books. This one is more of a crime novel but still has enough supernatural leanings to keep fans of his early books happy.

Dean Koontz wrote his first novel “Star Quest” in 1968 and since then his books have sold millions of copies. He has also written short stories, essays and many stand alone novels using several pen names because he wanted to experiment with other genres. Several of his books have been adapted to the screen including “Sole Survivor” and “Intensity.” Most recently his Odd Thomas series was made into a movie available only On Demand and other social sites including iTunes and Amazon.

Source: amazon


Arts & Entertainment

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
  • Keith Urban
    Dozens of concertgoers were treated for alcohol-related illnesses at a Keith Urban show
    Today's Buzz
  • Comic-Con
    Check out some of the sexiest women on hand at this year's Comic-Con
    20 Photos
  • The Hunger Games
    The trailer for 'The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1' has debuted online
    17 Photos
  • Beck
    Beck makes good on their long absence from St. Louis with a two hour set
    17 Photos
  • Wonder Woman
    Take an in-depth look at the hot new costume we'll be seeing on Wonder Woman
    Pop Culture